Smooth iMovie/FCP HD HDV Workflow - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2005, 09:44 PM   #76
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Filip,

It looks like this will be easier with the Z1 and the pro deck than it is with the FX1.

We'll try.

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2005, 11:38 PM   #77
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Is anyone having audio sync problems? I thought I saw/heard some "slipping," but otherwise, nothing.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2005, 04:35 AM   #78
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
<<<-- Originally posted by Frederic Haubrich : Filip,

It looks like this will be easier with the Z1 and the pro deck than it is with the FX1.

We'll try.

Frederic -->>>

thanks frederic,

that's what is needed !

fo course i'm talking about Z1.

filip


p.s.

say hello to tosha, and tell him this (fonetically!!!):

==========================
shtah rahdish seeneh? dhe see? :)))
==========================

translation: hey man (son) what are you doing, where are you...

it's kind of invitation when you see each other, and bit of slang in his native tounge. nothing offence.
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2005, 10:24 AM   #79
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
For the FCP HD settings via iMovie HD captured clips, what should I put in for the HD10? Upper (odd) and Square pixels?

Thanks,

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2005, 10:44 PM   #80
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marin
Posts: 13
Smoth workflow?!

With all due respect for the people who have generously given their time and expertise to this board - I would not call this a smooth workflow. A smooth workflow would be if Apple would not hold back features from their pro customers. What's worse is that I'm crashing just playing back footage in the timeline on a dual 2 ghz g5. It makes you want to get a pc!
Sam
Sam Edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2005, 10:48 PM   #81
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Don't get a PC! <g> I don't have issues like that on my single processor G5 1.6 ghz Power Mac, but it can be a bit of a pain in the neck. I'm starting to notice the artifacting, which really stinks.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2005, 11:00 PM   #82
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marin
Posts: 13
Has anybody else had trouble with fcp freezing when playing back edits in an AIC timeline?
thanks,
Sam
Sam Edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2005, 11:05 PM   #83
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
No, but my copy of iMovie HD keeps having problems reading my HD10.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2005, 10:34 AM   #84
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
<<<-- Originally posted by Sam Edwards : Has anybody else had trouble with fcp freezing when playing back edits in an AIC timeline?
thanks,
Sam -->>>

Sam,

If you look at my post in this tread, I mentioned that direct playing back with transitions would hang up FCPHD (rainbow wheels spinning forever).
Since current version of FCPHD is not officially supporting AIC at this point, we just have to wait until it gets supported.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2005, 10:49 AM   #85
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Marin
Posts: 13
Hi Kaku,
I guess I missed it in my frustration. Has anybody tried FCE-HD?
thanks,
Sam
Sam Edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2005, 10:54 AM   #86
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
<<<-- Originally posted by Sam Edwards : Hi Kaku,
I guess I missed it in my frustration. Has anybody tried FCE-HD?
thanks,
Sam -->>>

What you can do at this point is to use "media manager" and save the clips on a timeline as something works good (anamorphic DV or offline DV), do the edit and export back the timeline as AIC and show the original AIC clips.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2005, 11:24 AM   #87
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
<<<-- Originally posted by Kaku Ito : <<<-- Originally posted by Sam Edwards : Hi Kaku,
I guess I missed it in my frustration. Has anybody tried FCE-HD?
thanks,
Sam -->>>

What you can do at this point is to use "media manager" and save the clips on a timeline as something works good (anamorphic DV or offline DV), do the edit and export back the timeline as AIC and show the original AIC clips. -->>>

Exactly,

If you can deal with the AIC artifacts, you should edit AIC offline.

Both Kaku and I have mentioned this in this thread. It's not there yet.

HDV editing is experimental. That's just the way it is.

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2005, 11:28 AM   #88
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Re: Smoth workflow?!

<<<-- Originally posted by Sam Edwards : With all due respect for the people who have generously given their time and expertise to this board - I would not call this a smooth workflow. A smooth workflow would be if Apple would not hold back features from their pro customers. What's worse is that I'm crashing just playing back footage in the timeline on a dual 2 ghz g5. It makes you want to get a pc!
Sam -->>>

Sam,

I don't think Apple is holding features back from us. When iMovie HD and FCE HD came out, I thought it was a little peculiar that they didn't include HDV support in FCP HD.

After analyzing AIC closer, it makes sense. AIC isn't a professional quality codec. Many are now noticing the artifacts it introduces. It's no big deal for consumers who edit their kids birthday party but it's not acceptable for a professional solution.

Apple isn't holding anything back, they just aren't ready yet with a robust professional HDV editing solution. Editing MPEG is tough.

Frederic
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2005, 01:29 PM   #89
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
do not forget that NAB is very close, so guys from apple must have some aces there.

look what others are doing... same story.

filip
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2005, 09:10 PM   #90
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I'm starting to notice said artifacts, Frederic. Ugh...

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network