Smooth iMovie/FCP HD HDV Workflow - Page 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2005, 09:02 AM   #91
Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 932
Is there any way to configure or hack iMovie into using another codec instead of the AIC? Pixlet, or direct to DVCPROHD?
__________________
Ignacio Rodríguez in the third world. @micronauta on Twitter. Main hardware: brain, eyes, hands.
Ignacio Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2005, 09:14 AM   #92
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
Avoid Pixlet like the plague - it's a ghastly codec that's worse in all respects to PhotoJPEG100%. I have no idea why Apple wasted time and money on Pixlet at all, as it has no advantage over low compression JPEG technology. Indeed, Apple should open up PhotoJPEG so that it works for RT at all settings of size and compression as it's a most awesomely good codec for most applications. I'm also told that JPEG2000 is good for compressing video.

Indeed, I don't know why they bothered inventing AIC at all, and would rather have had them just immediately transcode to high quality PhotoJPEG.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2005, 08:35 PM   #93
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I used Pixlet with no problems, but then again, I don't know if it is worse than the AIC. I'm very frustrated now...

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2005, 08:59 PM   #94
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
You don't get problems with Pixlet, but it's slower to compress / decompress than PhotoJPEG100%, and it has slightly lower quality for a larger file size. That's why I don't like it, because an old standard like PhotoJPEG beats it in all areas that count, and it is a standard codec everyone can use.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2005, 09:11 PM   #95
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
I probably need some education here, but why not just use DVHSCap to capture the MT2 files and convert them to DVCPRO HD for editing?

Wouldn't this give you a better codec to edit in than AIC?
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2005, 09:18 PM   #96
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
DVCproHD works well, but it is quite heavily compressed, and you loose some horizontal rez - down from 1440 to 1280 - however, I don't think visually this matters much as the camera might record 1440 pixels across, but I don't think the camera / lens / tape system resolves enough detail to warrant 1440 pixels.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2005, 09:23 PM   #97
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
I just don't understand.

If space wasn't an issue, why isn't there just some kind of uncompressed format we could convert to?
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2005, 09:27 PM   #98
RED Problem Solver
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,365
Apple 8bit 4:2:2 uncompressed codec works great, but you need a very large and very fast drive for it. I'm using an Xserve RAID and it works very well with this kind of uncompressed HD.

Graeme
Graeme Nattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2005, 10:08 PM   #99
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I don't like DVCPro HD at all--when trying to make DVDs, the image is squashed and actors look "wider."

To do a "Best" quality QT movie of the AIC, I had to do the 4:2:2 and for a 3 minute movie, it was 20 gb on my firewire drive (7200 rpm) and couldn't play at all! But I used QTPro to save it as the AIC Best.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2005, 09:01 AM   #100
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicoutimi, Canada
Posts: 334
Try the DC30 lossless 4:2:2 codec, it is half the uncompressed from FCP and it works well even on slower machines.

I will post an example of the AIC destruction in nthe post I started regarding AIC compression soon.
__________________
Eric Bilodeau
video SFX,DOP
___________________
http://www.fictis.net
info@fictis.net
Eric Bilodeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2005, 09:38 AM   #101
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Eric,

Where do you find the DC30 codec?

I don't yet have iLife '05 so if it's an iMove HD thing, then I understand why I can't find it.

In FCP I can see a DC50 option, but no DC30.
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2005, 11:11 AM   #102
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicoutimi, Canada
Posts: 334
http://www.alfanet.it/squared5

Download the DC30 drivers (even if you don't have a DC30+ card :) and you will have their codecs.

They also do the MPEG streamclip application witch can convert m2t to Quicktime and quicktime to m2t.
__________________
Eric Bilodeau
video SFX,DOP
___________________
http://www.fictis.net
info@fictis.net
Eric Bilodeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2005, 11:55 AM   #103
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Thanks!

I've been using Streamclip to do my coversions from MT2.
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2005, 12:19 PM   #104
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Eric,

Got the codec, do you edit in FCP with this?

I looked at the new DC30 presets in FCP and they were all SD. Do you make a custom 1080 one or what?

Thanks!
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2005, 03:42 PM   #105
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicoutimi, Canada
Posts: 334
custom 1080i, 1440X1080 squared pixel anamorphic 16:9 upper field first, 29.97. Using DC30 lossless 4:2:2.
__________________
Eric Bilodeau
video SFX,DOP
___________________
http://www.fictis.net
info@fictis.net
Eric Bilodeau is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network