Quicktime Pro activation under FCS3? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2009, 03:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ingelheim (Rheinland-Pfalz)
Posts: 140
Quicktime Pro activation under FCS3?

Hi all,

long time ago that I needed Quicktime Pro the last time. Now, after upgrading to FCS 3 I find just Quicktime 7 and X but without any Pro function. Does anybody know how to activate it again? I tried both FCS (old and new) activation keys but nothing....

Thanks
Markus
__________________
Freelance full service reporter
www.boehnisch.de
Markus Bo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2009, 03:54 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Pro no more
Don Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2009, 04:03 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ingelheim (Rheinland-Pfalz)
Posts: 140
Hi Don,

that means buying a license to use it for import?

Markus
__________________
Freelance full service reporter
www.boehnisch.de
Markus Bo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2009, 05:42 PM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Markus,

Apple has unfortunately done yet another bone-headed thing with a core application. With Quicktime X there is no "pro" option, and there are no output options like those in Quicktime 7 at all, you're left with an oversimplified "ilife" options only.

Apple has included the Quicktime 7 application in the Snow Leopard disks under "optional installs". You can install QT 7 and if you already have FCP installed then you'll have the "pro" options readily available. Or, you can put in your own pro license code and get back what you had with 10.5 OS.

Why Apple chose to separate QT into these separate entities is unclear and, why they simply didn't give QT "X" all the pro-options so many professionals need is also baffling.

So in fact there are now 2 completely separate versions of QT: "X" which is the default player for 10.6 and, QT 7 which is now the "old" QT we're all familiar with. Go figure.

Here's a detailed article about QT X: Snow Leopard: QuickTime X | Mac OS X | Playlist | Macworld
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC

Last edited by Robert Lane; September 11th, 2009 at 07:37 PM.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2009, 02:14 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markus Bo View Post
Hi all,

long time ago that I needed Quicktime Pro the last time. Now, after upgrading to FCS 3 I find just Quicktime 7 and X but without any Pro function. Does anybody know how to activate it again? I tried both FCS (old and new) activation keys but nothing....

Thanks
Markus
Just to make sure... did you find the QT 7 under the Applications>Utilities folder?
It seems that it is placed there if you upgrade.
Boudewijn de Kemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 07:53 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ingelheim (Rheinland-Pfalz)
Posts: 140
Yes, I found it there but no way to activate it.
__________________
Freelance full service reporter
www.boehnisch.de
Markus Bo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 11:20 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Healdsburg, California
Posts: 1,138
It's pretty understandable why Apple separated the versions out with varying functionality, and Apple's reasoning makes sense, but it still seems like a fairly bone-headed way to do it in terms of serving the Pro user base.

In any case, can you clarify, before you upgraded to FCS3, did you already have QT 7 on your system? And if so, was it the Pro version?

If you already had QT Pro 7 before upgrading to FCS3, and the Pro key is no longer functional for it, you should be able to re-input the same code you used before. It is not the same code as your FCS license, it is a dedicated code just for QT. But if you had it before, Apple can email it to you again if you can't find any other record of it.

-Jon
__________________
"Are we to go on record, sir, with our assertion that the 'pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, and green clovers' are, in point of fact', magically delicious?"
- Walter Hollarhan before the House Subcommittee on Integrity in Advertising - May, 1974
Jonathan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 11:53 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheboygan, Michigan
Posts: 79
Getting Reg. Key

If you bought Pro online from Apple this link with get you the info you need to re-enter.
Used it just last night.
QuickTime Pro Key: Retrieving a lost key
The registration is under Quicktime Player 7/Registration.
Enter information and you are good to go.
Tom Cadwalader is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network