Re-timing 50P at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2009, 11:12 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 40
Re-timing 50P

Hey all

I have a collection of footage that I wish to edit and upload onto the net. The problem I'm having is mixing frame rates. I have footage shot at 50P and other footage shot at 25P. I want to get my final export out at 25P. Anyone know of any useful tools that I can use to re-time the 50P footage to 25P? The reason I say re-time is because I don't want the 50P footage just be be conformed to slow motion....

Cheers
Gavin Rawlings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 12:32 AM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
If you've got Final Cut Studio then use Compressor. If not MPEG Streamclip *might* be able to make a retimed encode but I've never used it for such an operation.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 09:15 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 40
Sorry Robert I'm not in front of my editing machine at the moment. Is it a hard process using Compressor?
Gavin Rawlings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 10:21 PM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Nope, not hard at all just not obvious if you're not familiar with frame-rate conversions.

You didn't mention what format the clips are in; give me that and I'll give you a walkthrough on how to convert the footage.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 11:22 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 40
That would be great thanks Robert! :)

The clips are re-wrapped XDCAM EX files in .mov. I also have the original .mp4's if that's better for compressor?

Cheers
Gavin Rawlings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 11:06 AM   #6
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
So here's all you need do:

First, make sure your sequence settings for your editing is in the XDCAM 1080p25 preset because that's what you want to be editing in.

Open the Compressor preset for XDCAM 1080p25 and copy that setting so you can make changes. Open the "Frame Controls" tab and turn on the controls.

Because XDCAM 1080-50 is interlaced you'll have to both de-interlace to get to 25p and retime the clips.

Set the Deinterlace to Best, and Rate Conversion to "so source frames play at 25 fps". That's it.

Beware: this will take some time to process so depending on the length and how many clips you have this could take a long time to make the conversions, but it will yield the best results.
Attached Thumbnails
Re-timing 50P-screen-shot-2009-09-17-9.01.53-am.png  
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 05:38 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 40
Great! Thanks for that Robert. I'll give that a go and let you know how I go :)
Gavin Rawlings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2009, 10:17 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lane View Post
Because XDCAM 1080-50 is interlaced you'll have to both de-interlace to get to 25p and retime the clips.
Just to note that given the info posted beforehand, it seems likely that the OP's source format is actually XDCAM EX 720p50 ie not 1080 and not interlaced.

Gavin, I think you need to post the specific details of your source before you can expect foolproof advice on this, but assuming it is 720p50 then you can still follow Roberts advice except that you'll have to work a little bit harder ... choose the XDCAM 1080p25 preset in Compressor as before, but then in the Inspector window's Encoder tab you need to click the Video Settings... button and choose Compression Type: XDCAM EX 720p25, then in the Frame Controls tab you can leave the Resizing Controls at default (as these will not be used), but you still enable the Retiming Controls "so source frames play at source". If this is a conversion you might be likely to need again then I'd suggest you also save this as a custom preset.

Hope it helps
Andy
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2009, 06:36 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 40
Actually I did end up having a bit of trouble using compressor as I am not to familiar with it so I used After Effects and got it working fine.

Thank you both for your help guys :)
Gavin Rawlings is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network