How to show/burn Time Code on the video in FCP? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 11th, 2005, 07:44 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 429
How to show/burn Time Code on the video in FCP?

Hi there

Is there a simple way to show the timecode of some video you are editing, burned into the video? Perhaps in the bottom of the video, where the bottom black bar is (for widescreen video)?

This would help with editing and getting our EDL for out online masters.

thanks.
Ronald Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2005, 08:40 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
1- Final Cut has a timecode filter which will do the burn-in.

2- You can also use automatic duck if you want to convert your project to an avid project.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2005, 12:36 PM   #3
MicroDolly Hollywood
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 22
Concerning the Timecode filter, I'm using FCPHD and I cannot seem to find a timecode filter that will do what I'd like it to -- which is put a timecode on the complete sequence.

In my program, there is a Timecode Generator and a Timecode Reader filter, but both of them are only putting a timecode on each individual cut within the sequence, not on the entire sequence.

For example, the Generator filter will start a timecode on cut and count out 1, 2, 3, 4... and then when it cuts to the next shot, it starts over at 1, 2, 3, 4...

Is there another filter I don't know about or am I using those filter incorrectly?
__________________
www.microdolly.com
Jibs, Dollies, Camera Mounts
Tim Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2005, 03:13 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 416
You could try nesting the entire sequence in another, and apply the TC filter to that? (Not actually tried this, but it is what I would try.)

If that doesn't work, I would try exporting the entire sequence as a QT file, and then re-import that into a new sequence, and apply the TC filter...
Martin Mayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2005, 05:44 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 223
For the timecode burn in window trick, follow this link:
http://www.creativemac.com/articles/...e.jsp?id=26874
Valeriu Campan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2005, 08:19 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Mayer
You could try nesting the entire sequence in another, and apply the TC filter to that? (Not actually tried this, but it is what I would try.)
That works fine, I've done it. Of course the timecode will be relative to that sequence though, and not the parts which make it up.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network