recording audio into FCP at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 18th, 2005, 12:33 PM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York City
Posts: 13
recording audio into FCP

I want to be able to hook a microphone up and record scratch narration and other sound directly into FCP. I see that FCP has a VO tool, but it doesn't seem to pick up a microphone hooked directly into my Blackmagic Decklink extreme card. I suppose I need a mic level to line level converter. Would that be all I'd need? I thought I'd see some level without a converter anyway. Has anyone done this?

Ideally l'd like to be able to hook up mics requiring phantom power too and record audio for final use. But I don't believe I should have to spend more than $200 or so for this. What's the best way to be able to do this short of buying another card and filling my last available PCI slot? I don't want to do that and believe this should be relatively simple.


Loch Phillipps
Off Ramp Films
Loch Phillipps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2005, 06:42 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
I only edit with DV through FireWire so I have no experience with the Decklink card, but I use Final Cut's VO feature all the time to record commentaries and sometimes sound fx. If the VO tool recognizes the audio in on your card, any amp should work. I use an old Fostex 4-channel mixer that cost well under $200, and I imagine anything at all will work to boost the signal. I've also used the head from a friend's PA system when I didn't have anything else, and that worked just fine, but the VO tool doesn't seem to recognize any mic without an amp in between the mic and the Mac. I've used a Sennheiser ME66 (low-cost phantom-powered shotgun) and a Shure dynamic mic meant for vocals, and both work well with the 4-channel mixer. Hope that helps.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 02:27 PM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 138
Is it possible to run the firewire from your camera directly into the Mac? Thus giving you a way around the problem. If I take the mic from my camera and record live audio I am thinking it should work. The flow would be, voice to mic to camera to firewire into the machine. If I am totally wrong you do not have my permission to shoot me but you can feel free to laugh all you want. I will be finding out real soon as I already have FCP and will be getting the computer to run it on in a few hours. YEA!
Cleveland Brown is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network