Mac/iMovie woes at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 23rd, 2005, 02:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 32
Mac/iMovie woes

I am in search of my next computer system (pc user now) and because I have a friend with a G5 I thought I would test my xl2 on his computer to see how it performs. To make a short story long we couldn't get it to even recognize the camera. We were attempting to use iMovie to capture some footage just to see how it would do.
I thought Mac's were supposed to be gods greatest gift for ease of use and compatibility. After all, my five-year-old pc recognized my xl2 right off. As a matter of fact, the G5, which he has had for about 6 months has never had to be turned off. Well at least not until last night when all it would do is freeze up.
We even did the total reset on my camcorder by removing both the main and backup batteries and reset the time/date stuff.

Question: Will iMovie work before it is registered? This is the only thing that I can think of for it not working correctly. All of the settings seemed to be correct (even it they weren't right it should still recognize my camera).

I haven't totally made up my mind against the G5 yet but is getting pretty close.

total newb
Jeff Boeckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2005, 03:02 PM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,462
I don't use iMovie on my G5, but a quick search in the iMovie support forums at didn't turn up anyone else with a similar problem. I know some people have had problems with the XL series (although I think it was mostly XL-1) using FCP, and they often seemed to be related to what else was plugged into the firewire port(s) on the computer. Was the XL2 the only thing connected via firewire?

Using FCP I understand that you need to choose "firewire basic" in the capture settings. I've also seen the suggestion to try daisychaining the XL2 into a pass-through firewire port on an external drive instead of directly into the computer.

Hopefully some Mac users with XL2's will have some other ideas for you. You might also want to visit iMovie support at
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2005, 03:02 PM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lewisburg PA
Posts: 752
Well according to Canon, it's supposed to work and Apple says so too

I have been using my XL2 with my G5 and have never had a problem. The most likely suspect is something related to the fire wire set up or a conflict with another piece of software.

Without knowing more about the set up it is very difficult to troubleshoot. What else is connected to the computer? What version of Quick Time is installed? What pieces of software are installed that might relate to the fire wire bus? Are all system updates and software updates installed? What system is installed? How much RAM? Is the fire wire cable good (have you swapped it out for another?) etc.
Peter Wiley is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network