HDV, FCE - firewire speed, powerbook G4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2005, 12:27 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3
HDV, FCE - firewire speed, powerbook G4

I'm editing an HDV project and had to use Final Cut Express b/c Final Cut Pro wouldnt recognize the Sony hdr fx1. Logged the footage but the playback is dropping frames, freezing and skipping.

I tried both firewire 400 and usb 2.0 - Does the speed of the drive matter with HDV? I thought it used roughly the same MB/s (around 24) as DV.

OR is my G4 powerbook, 1Ghz, 1GB RAM is too slow?

Has anyone else been able to edit HDV with that equipment? Or do you recommend I find a G5 somewhere?

Confused... alone... scared... :(
thx.
Zev Suissa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2005, 12:48 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 611
Re: HDV, FCE - firewire speed, powerbook G4

"HDV" on FCE may need more speed than USB and firewire provide because it's not HDV anymore. FCE transcodes HDV into another codec (AppleIntermediateCodec, or AIC) which is up to 5 times the datarate of DV. I would recommend editing from the hard drive.

Your G4 is right at the bottom of the requirement for HDV so I wouldn't be too surprised playback isn't perfect.
__________________
Shorts::Cut - www.shortscut.org.uk
The Short Film Festival for Portsmouth & Southsea.
Dylan Pank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2005, 12:49 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
I also have a 1ghz powerbook, but haven't tried FCE or HDV. However, the system requirements on Apple's site indicate you're right on the edge of what works http://www.apple.com/finalcutexpress/specs.html
Quote:
HDV
1GHz or faster PowerPC G4 or G5 processor
IGB of RAM
All above OS, QuickTime and graphics card requirements
You could also try iMovie HD, but its specs also call for a 1GHz or faster processor.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2005, 10:18 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 125
It's not the FireWire or USB that's the issue. It's the processor. AIC files are smaller than DVCProHD, and DVCProHD is plenty "safe" for editing over FireWire. Zev, I recommend a dual-processor G5.
Murad Toor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network