Align chapter marker in FCP to VOB boundaries? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 31st, 2005, 07:17 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 159
Align chapter marker in FCP to VOB boundaries?

Hi all

How can I put chapter markers on the timeline which will fall onto a VOB boundary when imported to DSP 3?

How to I export the video from FCP with chapter markers? I used compressor to export the video but it doesn't appear to have the chapter markers when I import to DSP 3?

thanks for any help
Donie
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.0Ghz and Canon XL2
Donie Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2005, 07:18 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm not sure if any of the packages have the features you are
looking for. I'm pretty sure FCP doesn't have align to VB boundary
since it does not work with VOB files. DVD SP does, so if there
is such a feature it should be there.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2005, 03:01 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 159
Hi Rob

FCP allows you to set markers and I was hoping they could be imported into DSP as chapter markers. I know I've done this before, I think you have to export using quicktime, I forget. Maybe somebody could clarify.

Anyway, my problem is that I have a short gap between two scenes and I wanted the marker to sit where the screen was black, however, when I tried to set the marker DSP would not allow me to set it in the area I wanted and I had to put it a bit to the left which, when played back, show a fraction of the fade from the previous screen.

If FCP could have warned me that the break point was not on a VOB boundary I could have sorted it during editing but now that the thing is edited it's a little tricky.

Just wondered if there was a way to ensure that the chapter points could be set more accurately during edit time.


Thanks
Donie
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.0Ghz and Canon XL2
Donie Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 05:17 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Your answer validates my first reply. Since FCP is not doing the
VOB encoding, it cannot have an idea about VOB boundaries. So,
yes, you may be able to set markers to export to chapter marks
(we can do that on the PC with Sony Vegas + DVD Architect as
well), but I don't see how you could take VOB alignment/boundaries
into account in that phase of the project.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 02:01 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 159
So when you set chapter markers you have no way of setting them accurately? But, if you are in a spot where the scene changes what is the procedure of making sure that that point is going to be aligned?

Or do you have to leave a wide enough gap to be sure that the marker will fall somewhere within the gap?

What happens if you don't have a gap and you want it to be frame accurate? That's not possible is it?

thanks for the replies...
Donie
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.0Ghz and Canon XL2
Donie Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 04:10 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I can't answer your questions for certain, but it seems plausible
that we cannot control the exact points a chapter point will go to
or where the VOB boundaries are. This is the reason that the big
boys have high-end machines where they can finetune such
details and other things like VBR allocation etc.

If you want this features you should be looking for them in your
authoring application (ie, DVD Studio Pro or something else), and
not in FCP. The authoring place is where to look for such features
(together with the MPEG-2 encode). Whether DVD SP has that,
I do not know. I would suggest the following:

1. look every where in the application

2. thoroughly check the manual / help

3. ask this question on Apple's forums. I hear they are quite good and people should know for sure overthere
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network