editing on laptops at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 8th, 2005, 08:33 AM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 9
editing on laptops

can an apple powerbook handle editing in high definition, or will it choke? anyone know?
Corey Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2005, 09:12 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
Current Mac laptops come with iMovie HD, so, technically, yes you can but more info about what HD format you want to use, what camera you'll be using, etc is needed.

There is a forum for Lumiere HD which is an HD acquisition tool for FCP HD that might give you more answers.

The only HD codec FCP HD uses currently is DVCPro HD and the only camera using it (that I know of) is the $60,000 Panasonic Varicam.
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network