Importing to external hardrive at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 8th, 2005, 11:13 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Importing to external hardrive

I'm having trouble importing to my external hardrive.

I set the scratch disk destination to the intended hard drive but for some unknown reason it won't permit me to capture and FCP pop up window says "general error". I switched the scratch disk destination to my computers hard drive to see if it might be FCP or the camera that's problematic but it worked fine.

Anyone have some advice?

Systems- FCP 4
Canon GL1
Maxtor 250gb
Richard Guaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2005, 01:23 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Venice, CA
Posts: 346
More info would help, like:
Computer setup?
External HD interface, firewire, USB 2.0?
Version of OS X?
What other devices are plugged in?
Mark Sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2005, 01:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Capturing to external drive

I have OS X 10.2 i believe and am using a firewire cable. As i said before, capturing works fine when destination is set to my G4's hardrive.

When I try to capture it fails with "general error" but somehow when I open the external drive, there are links to the media I was trying to capture but they cannot be read nor opened...?
Richard Guaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2005, 02:16 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Just a fews thoughts....

Make sure you've updated to the final version of Jaguar, which is 10.2.8 I think. You should be able to do this with the software update pane in system preferences. There were some bugs in earlier versions of 10.2

Check the formatting of your external drive. Click once on the icon to highlight, then File > Get Info. Under "Format" it should say Mac OS Extended. Did you format the drive specifically for the Mac? Some of them come pre-formatted for Windows. They will mount properly and work fine for most things, but you will often have problems using them for video because they won't be fast enough. If it is Windows formatted then use Disk Utility from the utilities folder in applications to reformat the drive. You could also run Disk First aid and see if it uncovers and problems with the drive.

Also try unplugging any other firewire devices. Are the camera and disk plugged into separate ports? If not then give that a try. If so then try plugging the camera into the pass-through port on the disk drive (if it has one). I seem to recall that Canon cameras have some Mac firewire issues too...

If none of this works, then try this http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=26728. If everything is setup properly there shouldn't be any problem capturing to a firewire drive.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network