mac mini: outputting to monitor and TV simultaneously at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 7th, 2005, 05:47 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: vancouver, B.C Canada
Posts: 9
mac mini: outputting to monitor and TV simultaneously

i'm putting together a small edit studio around the mac mini, and i'd like to output to a LCD monitor for editing and a TV to preview my work. i'd like to do this without rewiring stuff every time i want to preview. Is there an inexpensive way of getting video out of the firewire port to the TV? if this is possible, could i do this through a dv camcorder? if so, then which one?
Jon Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2005, 08:50 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
There are a variety of ways to do this.

1. You could buy a firewire converter box like this: http://www.canopus.us/US/products/AD...pt_advc110.asp

2. You could use any camcorder that supports "DV IN" firewire - most of them do.

3. You could use a standalone DVD recorder with firewire input.

4. You could use a DV player like this: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=212935&is=REG

Option number 4 would involve the least plugging and unplugging because you could also use it to capture your tapes, but it isn't cheap. Option 2 may be the best way to go if you're on a budget; just leave your camcorder plugged into the firewire port while you're editing.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2005, 12:50 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: vancouver, B.C Canada
Posts: 9
i have an xl1 but as i understand it it won't pass through the image directly from DV -> video without recording. should i just buy a cheapie consuper camcorder? are there ones i should stay away from?
Jon Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2005, 02:46 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
A lot of camcorders can convert either from analog --> DV or DV --> analog. Also known as "DV --> A/V". They cannot do both at once, so you have to put it on the right setting/direction.

Dig around the menus or read your manual. I'm pretty sure the XL1 can handle this.

I don't think you ever have to record to mini-DV with the XL1... although I might be wrong.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2005, 04:42 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I have the XL-1 (no s). I can connect it to the computer via firewire and a TV via S-Vid or RCA. I can select external monitor or do a PTT and the image will go straight to the TV (or I could have it connected to a VCR and record the signal) WITHOUT a tape in the camera and without recording. Pass-thru works just fine.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2005, 05:05 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: vancouver, B.C Canada
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
I can select external monitor or do a PTT and the image will go straight to the TV
how do you do this? i can't find it in the VCR menu of the XL1.
Jon Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2005, 06:23 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The original XL-1 did not have a menu option for this. You just connect it to the computer via firewire, connect it to the monitor via RCA or S-Video, put it in VCR mode, and tell the computer to either external preview or Print To Tape.

The original XL-1 will NOT go the other direction, though. It will not accept analog input and send that to the computer.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2005, 08:16 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Camp Hill, PA
Posts: 41
Also, have your XL-1 hooked up and powered on in VCR mode before firing up Final Cut. I've had situations where if I'm editing & then hook up the camera, I can't preview on the monitor.
John Snoddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2005, 04:14 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: vancouver, B.C Canada
Posts: 9
hey thanks guys! it works beautifully now!
Jon Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2005, 07:40 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Snoddy
Also, have your XL-1 hooked up and powered on in VCR mode before firing up Final Cut. I've had situations where if I'm editing & then hook up the camera, I can't preview on the monitor.
John,

In this case go to File>View>Refresh A/V Devices.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network