FCP looses touch with DVCAM deck, Firewire at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 17th, 2005, 02:24 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 98
FCP looses touch with DVCAM deck, Firewire

Has this happened to anyone?

I'm running FCP 4.5 and hooked up to a Sony DSR-20, with the video/audio output set to firewire (with mirrored on desktop)....

I'll start up FCP, with the deck on... and it all works great (video/audio output over firewire from the timeline)... but then stops output to the deck for no good reason.

here is the head scratcher.... if you "print to tape" it works great (audio/video output to the deck).....

BUT... if you "preview" the bars and tone to the deck, I get nothing...

AND.... I can still log, capture and control the deck through log and capture...


just no video/audio output from the timeline.





any thoughts?
Alan Galbraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2005, 02:45 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 179
When faced with similar problems I have only had success fixing it by quitting FCP and throwing away preferences.

When relaunching FCP don't forget to (re)set scratch disks.
__________________
VM Productions
Mike Hanlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2005, 02:54 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
There were two things which might cause this in older versions of FCP, so probably worth taking a look.

1. Make sure the canvas and viewer windows are set to "fit to window" using the button at the top. If you set the view to 100% instead, sometimes it would disable firewire output randomly.

2. Close the log and capture window when not actually capturing. If left open it would also cause the same problem.

Otherwise, Mike's suggestion is the current wisdom. Here's some more detailed info about deleting/restoring preferences:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showpost....57&postcount=6
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2005, 03:41 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 98
danke mucho... will give it a shot.
Alan Galbraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2006, 10:08 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Falls Church Virginia
Posts: 61
When you say throw away preferences or trash preferences I don't understand what you mean.
Do you mean that you just change them?
I'm having a similar problem when I try to insert edit to my sony dsr-25 on DVCAM tape.
FCP won't let me do it. But I thought that was because FCP assumes that because I'm using firewire it thinks I'm using a consumer grade mini DV recorder, and the manual says that preview is disabled when using mini DV format.
Michael
Michael Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2006, 10:10 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Falls Church Virginia
Posts: 61
Sorry, I explain that I'm using FCP 5 on G5.
Michael
Michael Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2006, 12:25 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
#8 External Monitor Viewing.

Shane's Stock Answer #8:

A simple path is mac > firewire > camera or deck > rca cables > tv

Then start up your camera and tv, then open fcp.

Then go View > External video > all frames
Video playback should be Apple firewire NTSC (If you are using an NTSC set)
Audio playback should be Audio follows Video

Techinially, this should send synched video to your TV

If for some reason you can't view your timeline on your external monitor, there are a few things to try:

1) Make sure that the camera/deck is connected and powered on BEFORE you open FCP.

2) In the Final Cut Pro menu select AUDIO/VIDEO Preferences and make sure your signal is being sent out thru Firewire DV.

3) Go to the menu and select VIEW>EXTERNAL>ALL FRAMES.

4) Click in the % box above the image and select FIT TO WINDOW.

5) Go to VIEW->refresh A/V devices

6) Make sure the Log & Capture window is closed

If you want it to play in both the canvas and the external monitor you need to go to the FINAL CUT PRO menu and select AUDIO/VIDIO settings and make sure MIRROR ON DESKTOP is selected under the PLAYBACK OUTPUT section
Shane Ross is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network