FCP "General Error" with AUGraphicEQ filter at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2005, 01:18 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
FCP "General Error" with AUGraphicEQ filter

I'm editing a piece on an iMac G5 right now in FCP 4.5 on OS 10.3.9. When I apply the AUGraphicEQ filter (the 31-band equalizer), I can't play the clips with it applied, and Final Cut gives me a "General Error" warning. I've tried my usual maintenance - repairing permissions, restart, etc. - and nothing seems to make a difference. It only seems to happen with that filter - my compression and low pass filters work just fine. All the other Apple Filters work fine. Anyone know what this means? Is the plug-in file corrupted? Is there something out of whack in my project settings (I'm editing NTSC DV, by the way)? At the very least, has anyone else seen this error before?
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2005, 01:37 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Did the filter work before you upgraded to 10.3.9? Have you tried downloading the latest FCP update from Apple's site?

http://www.apple.com/support/downloa...acosx1039.html

I don't know anything abouit "AUGraphicEQ"... is it shareware, did you buy it? I assume there's a website somewhere that offers tech support. Why not check to see if they have an update too?
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2005, 02:41 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 273
Boyd, thanks for the good suggestions, but the filter worked yesterday on a different project, and I haven't installed anything in that time. AUGraphicEQ is a filter that ships with FCP 4. I think it's one of Apple's CoreAudio units. So it's not suspicious shareware.
Zach Mull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2005, 03:29 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
In that case it's probably worth giving this a try if you haven't already done so:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showpost....57&postcount=6
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2005, 11:33 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
The EXACT same thing is happening to me right now. Using a Dual 1.8 G5, 10.3.9, and FCP 4.5. I'll erase my preferences tomorrow and post again to say if it made any difference. Thanks for the tip.

Darren
Darren Flynn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network