Compressor 2.0 Break Ups at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 28th, 2005, 03:18 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Compressor 2.0 Break Ups

Using Tiger, FCP 5. The footage is downconverted HDV to DV wide via an FX1.
I am using the basic 60 minutes Best Quality Widescreen to convert to MPEG2. Parts of the image break up regularly as if I were receiving a very poorly transmitted signal.
I can export the project via Quicktime and it comes out fine.
Anyone experiencing this?
Any thoughts?

Whit Wales
Whit Wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2005, 08:57 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 17
No Responses?

Is it that people are not experiencing this Macroblockiness or simply that no folks here have been using Compressor 2.0?
Curious to know.
I've trashed preferences.
Repaired Permissions and changed the field order...

Whit
Whit Wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2005, 09:11 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Sorry, still using FCP 4.5/MacOS 10.3.8. I'm in the middle of a project and would rather read about all the issues you pioneers are having instead of experiencing them for myself! :-)
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2005, 10:25 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Compressor 2.0 Blocky

Sorry, still using FCP 4.5/MacOS 10.3.8. I'm in the middle of a project and would rather read about all the issues you pioneers are having instead of experiencing them for myself!


Fair Enough!

Whit
Whit Wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2005, 06:08 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 540
I've only tried a DVD once since upgrading and sure enough, I did get the blocky, artifacty looking junk on the screen. I went out to a QT file and then exported from QT and it was fine. Seems like we may have a bug...

By the way, H.264 rocks. This is the future. If you haven't downloaded QT7 and the HD trailers from Apple's site, do it now. QT 7 on 10.3.9 did not goof up anything on my computer including FCP and AVID Xpress DV. The trailers are amazing looking...~130 megs for a 1080i, 2 and 1/2 minute trailer. I just with we had a better name than H.264!

Kevin
Kevin Wild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2005, 07:37 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Two Workarounds

Found some perspective from other list serves and thought I would share:

1. 1-Pass CBR seems to work fine in Compressor 2 with downconverted footage. (This is second hand; I have not tested)

2. Making a self-contained FCP movie and then encoding and authoring in DVDSP with a 2-Pass VBR of your choosing also seems to avoid the macro blockiness. (This worked successfully for me: 25 second test clip)

Until Next Time,


Whit
Whit Wales is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network