Premiere Previews Quit Working at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 1st, 2005, 08:13 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pendleton (near Indianapolis), Indiana USA
Posts: 49
Premiere Previews Quit Working

I'm a month away from a new G5 dual and FCP so Premiere must be fighting back. I can't seem to play any newly edited project without severe glitches. I've played from old files and they work fine. I tried re-rendering one of them and it glitched. I've tried moving the previews from my HD to an auxiliary HD and back and no luck. After rendering, the glitch is exactly the same and shows even when stepping through a frame at a time so it has to be in the rendered files vs. simply a playback problem. Help! I've got a lot of work to do!!
__________________
John Paulsel
Highpoint Productions

"I'd do it for free but I don't!"
John Paulsel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2005, 10:02 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
You have deleted the preview files and started the rendering all over? And it still has the same problem?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2005, 11:24 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pendleton (near Indianapolis), Indiana USA
Posts: 49
Premiere Previews Quit Working

Yes, I've re-rendered it dozens of times. It fades up from black via a dissolve (black to a Jumpback animation). Right at the end of the dissolve, it glitches ... about two black frames plus all jumbled up. The audio also doesn't play right. I recently downloaded QT 7 and then 7.1. Hope that's not the problem.
__________________
John Paulsel
Highpoint Productions

"I'd do it for free but I don't!"
John Paulsel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2005, 03:20 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 149
Have you tried trashing the preference files? They could be corrupt.
Do you have any filters applied, and if so have you tried removing them to see what happens?

Edit> After reading your post I am wondering if you are working in Premiere or FCP. It sounds like you are working in premiere. If so why are you posting here?
Kevin Kocak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2005, 05:17 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pendleton (near Indianapolis), Indiana USA
Posts: 49
Premiere Previews Quit Working

Haven't tried the preference file trick yet but that's a good idea. Yes, as the title of my thread says I'm using Premiere. I thought the catagory was "DV Editing on the Mac". I'm using Premiere for MacIntosh ... Ver. 6.5 ...the latest and last Mac version. That's why I'm switching to FCP next month. In the mean time, I have projects due now.

I tried the same file on a G3. It rendered and played fine. I also reinstalled the application on the G4 ... no luck.

Thanks for the tip.
__________________
John Paulsel
Highpoint Productions

"I'd do it for free but I don't!"
John Paulsel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network