Powermac g5 dual 2.7 + 4 gb ram- enough for smooth HDV + Motion? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2005, 09:14 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Macau
Posts: 331
Powermac g5 dual 2.7 + 4 gb ram- enough for smooth HDV + Motion?

I'm going to invest on a new home based editing solution. I do comercials, event coverage and short films (I do a lot of progressive 25 p shooting- PAL here)

Can someone tell me if this is the way to go, or should I head "the PC way"? I do not have a problem with windows, but also like the stability of Mac. I have a P4 2ghz with Pinnacle dv500 plus 1 ghz RAM at home, and it has been great for dv for over 3 years... UI have, however, a g4 1.67 powerbook with 2 ghz RAM, even tough slow, is very stable and I LOVE the flexibility of conversion in FCP.

Any suggestions from the experts out there? I posted here on the Mac forum because I do want the opinion of someone who has the experience of actually working in "both worlds"like I do...
__________________
If you don't believe in your film, no one else will.
Sergio Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2005, 09:25 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
I can't provide a perspective of someone who's used both systems, because all my experience is on the Mac. But if you're used to a 1.67ghz G4 I can tell you to expect a speed increase between 2x to 3x with the dual 2.7 G5 (based on my experience with a 1.25 G4 single and 2.5 dual G5).

Of course Motion is a piece of software which will easily eat up as much CPU and GPU as you can throw at it. And (obviously) it doesn't even run on the PC.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2005, 09:32 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa, FL United States
Posts: 135
Sergio,

I am no Pro but I dabble with the FX1 and FCP5. The performance of my 2002 vintage Dual 1G G4 Powermac (1.5 G ram) blows away the peformance of my 2005 Powerbook 1.5G G4 (1 G ram).

I would love to have the power of a Dual 2.7 G5 and you probably would need it if you do a lot of post processing like you are talking about, but for simple cuts and transitions, even my aged Dual 1 G4 gets by pretty well. In fact the release of FCP5 has basically retooled it and made it usable again for me.

Unless you have AspectHD/ConnectHD from Cineform on the PC platform, you may struggle in the PC world with HDV edits.

Bryan
Bryan Suthard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2005, 09:38 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa, FL United States
Posts: 135
Forgot to mention that I use Vegas also with a P4 3.0 Ghz. Editing native captures from HDV is really a struggle for the machine. This where the Cineform ConnectHD product which pre-processes the HDV stream into a fast editing format comes into play. I do not own it, but check out HDV Editing Solutions forum for more info about it if you choose to stick with a PC.
Bryan Suthard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2005, 10:14 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Derry, New Hamsphire
Posts: 4
Get more Ram....

Sergio, I use FCP 4.5 HD on a G5 dual 2.5 with an nVidia 6800 Ultra and 4.5 gb ram. Editing in FCP is great but more ram will help. My system slows noticebly while using Motion though, specifically if several types of effects are used. It's enough to make me feel that 6 to 8gb of ram would make the system fly. Hope this helps ya decide.
Chuck
Chuck Grieves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2005, 12:24 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 612
Ok, easy question. Right now you, my friend Sergio, only have two choices for your line of work. One, AVID Xpress Pro HD. Two, Final Cut Pro HD. That's it. The bottom line is that these two apps are the top of the line and they are the only ones that work perfectly with HD right now. But from everything I've been reading for the past three years, Final Cut Pro is the way to go. AVID apparently has a ton of bugs that still haven't been ironed out yet and it's a freak thing too, some people experience bugs and some never have a crash at all. AVID would be nice since it works on both platforms, but why would you do that if you could get Final Cut Pro instead? I say that going Final Cut Pro is your best bet since I hear nothing but good things about it. Keep in mind that you should get as much RAM as possible and do try for the Geforce 6800 Ultra graphics card, it will help.
__________________
"Babs Do or Babs Do not, there is no try." - Zack Birlew
www.BabsDoProductions.com
Zack Birlew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2005, 06:11 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bozeman, MT
Posts: 79
FWIW: I am right at this moment edting HDV in FCP 5 with the same machine you describe, except I only have 2GB of RAM. So far, so good in FCP, although admittedly all I've done is short work, 3.5 minute sequences, but the native HDV looks good and runs well. Have only opened Motion to play but as Boyd suggests, it will take all you can give it and run better with more of everything.
Mark Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2005, 11:01 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Macau
Posts: 331
Thanks everybody. I really have to say that this online community here is really helpful, and this is the reference site for everything concerning videography. Thank you all. I decided to go with the powermac, then. By the way, just did a commercial for a motocross event here in Macau, done on a PC- with very intensive After Effects work... I know I should start another thread for this, but since I never used motion... How does it compare with AE? Can I do animations, keys and, you know, "after effects" with motion? Will it make me "divorce" after effects and marry motion?
__________________
If you don't believe in your film, no one else will.
Sergio Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2005, 12:08 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 8
In fact, you will not have to divorce AfterEffects at all. Motion integrates fairly well with AfterEffects and can even be launched from within AfterEffects. See

http://www.apple.com/finalcutstudio/...eoverview.html

for more info. Additionally , the dual 2.7 G5 will run FCP smoothly and should do very well with Motion. Like Chuck Grieves said, more memory will do wonders for FCP and Motion
Liam Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2005, 12:55 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I maybe partial here, but...

I'd head in the direction of the Mac. I've been very happy with how my dual 2.5 and now dual 2.7 have worked with FCP and Motion. The dual 2.5 had 2 gig ram, but recently I got the dual 2.7 and opted for 6.5 gig RAM (I think, if not it's 5.5 gig RAM). Everything is just plug and play (or edit, capture, etc.). In the rare case, when a problem does occur, it's usually a pretty simple fix. Hope this helps.
  Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network