FCP glitches with Tiger: at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 12th, 2005, 01:53 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oakland, CA & Dubai (UAE)
Posts: 13
FCP glitches with Tiger:

I am using a G4 Titanium powerbook (867Mhz) and just recently installed Tiger. That is proving to be a mistake for me. I do all my video editing (FCP) on my powerbook and usually do so on the road. Since installing Tiger, every time I plug in any one of my three external firewire drives (rocstor and Maxtor), my system shuts down and tells me to restart my computer. Now, they were working perfectly fine before I installed Tiger. I was using Panther before without any issues at all. Anybody experience a similar problem?

My powerbook is worthless without my files for FCP!
Mustafa Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2005, 03:16 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
There are lots of problems with FCP 4.5 and Tiger.... not a good idea to use them together unless you absolutely must. If so, then have a look at this thread:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=46030

If this doesn't help then try visiting the FCP support forum at http://discussions.info.apple.com
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2005, 06:36 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 796
I've installed Tiger on 3 FCP HD systems and none of them have had any problems. Well, I take that back..the G5 with an AJA IO had problems but it was related to the AJA, not Tiger. All I did to fix it was remove all of the new AJA presets that were supposed to be for Tiger, and install the original CD that came with the unit. The other G5 was no problem and a Mac Mini FCP HD station was no problem either. I don't know why I had no problems, other than being rather meticulous about system maintenance, but I have rarely had any problems when upgrading since OS X 10.1.
__________________
Dave Perry Cinematographer LLC
Director of Photography Editor Digital Film Production 540.915.2752 daveperry.net
Dave Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2005, 07:18 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
If you visit Apple's forums at the link I gave above you'll see that lots of people have had problems, both with QT 7 and Tiger. Also read Steve's adventures here: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=45798

I'm in the middle of several large projects and the last thing I want to waste time with is troubleshooting. It ain't broke, I ain't fixin' it, and I can continue to live happily without Spotlight or Widgets for the time being...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network