OT: Creating a New System Disk. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 5th, 2009, 07:49 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 1,095
OT: Creating a New System Disk.

I have a 250GB System disk that is full, I would like to install a 1TB system disk.

How do I create this new system disk? I have "super-Duper" that can clone the 250GB drive to another 250GB Drive, but if I do that don't I lose the other 750GB's? That would be bad.

Sorry for such a basic (and off topic) question. Any help would be appreciated.
Chuck Spaulding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 08:30 AM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
You don't mention whether this is a tower or laptop so the "best possible" process would be slightly different for either.

However in short, you can install your new drive and install a fresh copy of the OS (preferably Snow Leopard) onto it. Then during the install process where it asks if you're going to migrate your stuff from an another Mac you can then transfer the old data to the new drive.

OR: Use CCC or Super-Duper to simply copy over the entire image to the newer drive. It's just copying data so the added free space stays exactly as that - it doesn't separate free space into a separate partition.

It's always a good idea to make a clone/backup of your main OS disk before you attempt the migration, just in case things go wonky on you.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 09:39 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mammoth Lakes CA
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Spaulding View Post
How do I create this new system disk? I have "super-Duper" that can clone the 250GB drive to another 250GB Drive, but if I do that don't I lose the other 750GB's?
As Robert said, simply use SuperDuper to clone to the larger drive. It will preserve everything, make a bootable drive and give you the added space on the new drive. I have done this multiple times when updating hard drives inside of various MacBook Pros and MacBooks.
David Sholle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 01:03 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 1,095
Thanks Guys for the information. I wasn't sure if simply cloning the original drive to the larger newer drive would partition it or just place the data on the new drive and leave it partition the way that it is.

I'll give this a try.

Thanks for the feedback.
Chuck Spaulding is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network