PSD into FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 7th, 2009, 04:46 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 190
PSD into FCP

I've tried importing some .psd's into FCP 7 (on Leopard) and they come in flattened. I've poked around on the net and it appears you are supposed to be able to import psds and they'll come up as their own sequence - sometimes. I don't have photoshop installed on the edit mac, it's on a windows machine along with CS3. I don't know if the photoshop documents (from a client) were created on a mac or win machine.

So, is this supposed to work? Is there a trick to it?

Thanks in advance.
John Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2009, 06:34 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
John, I don't have FCP7 but in all previous versions, if you double click on the PSD in the Browser, it loads into the Timeline window as a Sequence (in layers) but there are ways to load a PSD directly into the Viewer and have it open as if it was a clip. How are you opening the PSD and how (and where) does it appear?
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2009, 07:34 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 190
Shaun,

I tried clicking to load it onto the timeline, placing it on the timeline and clicking, right clicking and trying to open it in the editor, nothing seemed to work. In the meantime I've exported a bunch of .pngs and I'm working just fine with those, but I would like to solve this. Thanks for the reply.
John Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2009, 07:38 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Ok, if you Double Click a PSD in the Browser, what happens? Where does it open? (I'm using 6.0.6)
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2009, 08:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 190
Double-clicking opens it in the viewer. Whatever I do with it - dragging it from the viewer to the timeline, or dragging it from the browser to the timeline, it behaves like a single normal graphic.

Last edited by John Godwin; November 7th, 2009 at 08:16 PM. Reason: correct misspelling
John Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2009, 08:18 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Interesting... I wonder if it needs a Library from an installed Photoshop seat in order to open as layers. All my edit computers have always had a seat of PS.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2009, 08:40 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 190
"Maximize Capability" is turned on ... thanks for the help. It's almost 10 pm here in Atlanta, and I've had just about enough of me for one day, so I'll try more tomorrow.

Thanks again...
John Godwin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network