Converting HDV-DVCPro50 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 11th, 2009, 04:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fidjeland, Norway
Posts: 289
Converting HDV-DVCPro50

Hi.
I am just finishing a documentary that has been shot mostly with the JVC GY-HD201 in 720p50. Other formats as HDV1080i and ProRes has been used as well, and it ended up being edited in an HDV 720p50 timeline.

The result looks good. I now need to deliever the final master as a DVCPro 50 file. Does anyone have any good suggestions how to do this and get the best quality? It will be delievered on a hard drive.

I thought about using Media Manager in FCP and just hand the post production company the project with all the files and let them downconvert it on the fly through a Decklink card. But I am not sure how to do this. I did check it out, but got scared once I saw the checkbox that says Delete unused files.

Any suggestions welcome. Thanks.

Svein Rune
Svein Rune Skilnand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 02:21 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
If you need to deliver a DVPro50 FILE (and not on tape), I would export your finished timeline as one clip using the Export function of FCP, import that clip into a new DVCPro50 timeline in FCP, render and Export THAT clip as Self Contained from FCP.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 03:36 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fidjeland, Norway
Posts: 289
Thanks for your input, Shaun.

When you say export the timeline as one clip, I am not sure what you mean. Do you mean to export the timleine as an HDV- file, since that is my editing timeline, and then bring that file into a DVCPro50 timeline?
Svein Rune Skilnand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 03:57 PM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Svein,

You should consult first with the production company that is requesting the DV50 file and make sure they are capable of handling a FCP project - and make sure they have the same version of FCP so there are no compatibility issues.

With respect to converting your HD timeline to SD DV50 (DVCPRO-50) whether it's NTSC or PAL you should do it in Compressor, not exporting it directly from the timeline in that codec. The reason is that you have no control over the conversion and down-scaling processes required to take HD down to SD resolution (you're going from more pixels/bigger canvas to less pixels/smaller canvas) when exporting from the timeline, whereas Compressor will give you full control and ultimately better quality.

Also, if you export and convert from HD to SD directly from the timeline you'll have to flag the timeline as "anamorphic" otherwise your downconverted SD file won't have the correct aspect ratio and will have to be converted again in either the player or the receiving timeline.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 04:02 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Lane View Post
You should consult first with the production company that is requesting the DV50 file and make sure they are capable of handling a FCP project - and make sure they have the same version of FCP so there are no compatibility issues.
He would be sending a FILE, not a project so as long as the production company has the correct CODEC support, it wouldn't make a difference what version of FCP they are running.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 04:04 PM   #6
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
From his original post:

"I thought about using Media Manager in FCP and just hand the post production company the project with all the files..."

That's why I mentioned the FCP compatibility.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 08:42 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
I love completeness! Good call Robert. I was going based on:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svein Rune Skilnand View Post
I now need to deliever the final master as a DVCPro 50 file.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network