Two RAID cards and Final Cut Pro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 14th, 2009, 04:18 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Two RAID cards and Final Cut Pro

I have a Dulce Raid 4TB as my working drive with Final Cut. I am looking at adding a Maxx 12TB Raid that I can expand in the future daisy chain to use as my working drive. Just shooting too many Gig these days.

Can I have Final Cut look at two Raids through different cards? Or will I have to use the Dulce as a back up Raid?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2009, 06:38 PM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
I've only tested ATTO and Highpoint cards in the G5 and Mac Pro; you cannot have the *exact* model and driver in two different slots as the driver would get confused at to which one it's supposed to be managing.'

However if you had for example an ATTO card in one slot and a Highpoint card in another then it should work fine. The point being that dissimilar cards should be able to run concurrently assuming they are both properly setup.

Beware: Companies like ATTO and AJA want their cards to live in specific slots based on the speed allocated to that particular slot.

Make sure you are aware of how to use the Expansion Slot Utility found in:

SYSTEM/LIBRARY/CORESERVICES

and apply that information to the HBA cards you intend to use.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2009, 06:53 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
I ran a Highpoint, LSI (Apple Fiber) and ATTO Tech all on the same box.
As Robert says, the driver must be different and supported at the correct bus speed (ie - 4x card for 8x slot, ect). Keep in mind that AJA and other vendors like their capture cards in specific slots, so if you plan on using hardware I/O, keep these free from RAID cards.

-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2009, 07:13 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Great info guys thanks.

I will talk with the people at Maxx tomorrow and see what card they use an check the specs on my Dulce card to make sure they are different..
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network