Adding an Efffect to the whole project / FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 22nd, 2009, 10:16 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
Adding an Efffect to the whole project / FCP

How do I add an effect to the entire FCP sequence?

Right now I have to drag and drop it to each clip or copy and paste.
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2009, 10:20 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
EASIEST way is to load the effect into the Viewer, make whatever changes you want, go to the Timeline, hit SPLAT(Command) A to select all and then drag the effect from the Viewer onto the clips in the Timeline. All clips highlighted will receive the effect.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2009, 10:22 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
great and thanks for the ninja reply!
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2009, 10:35 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Jackass... that's me!
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2009, 04:01 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Yep, but nesting the sequence and applying an effect to it is far more flexible - you can easily adjust the effect afterwards.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2009, 04:56 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
That's will work as long as the sequence is without dissolves or fades. Especially with filters that soften the image or change the video levels, dissolves turn into subtly strange transitions.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2009, 09:57 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
I second the nesting advice... or make a new sequence and drag the other sequence into it.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network