Compressor Rendering at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 11th, 2010, 11:04 AM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Philly/NJ
Posts: 18
Compressor Rendering

Hey guys, looking for a bit of help, google searches are only bringing up results for air compressors heh...

Compressor keeps converting my file to a black screen with flashing, random, green horizontal lines.

My workflow is as follows...
Edit in HDV (fcs2)
Export to Quicktime Mov (same settings)
Compressor to 90 min best pass DVD
Add asset to DVD studio pro.

I've made dvd's like this for a while now, without any issue.
Before FCS2 i could just send it straight to Compressor and skip exporting to Mov, but since I upgraded it would freeze anytime I tried that.
Alex Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 08:28 PM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,730
Images: 15
Technically speaking that's the correct workflow but it sounds as if you've either got project or software corruption somewhere.

As I always say, the best thing to do is take care of system maintenance first and see how things end up after. Download and run Onyx (make sure it's the right version for your OS) - run ALL the cleaning and maintenance routines.

If you have DiskWarrior run that as well. (If you don't have a copy, get one - highly recommended).

Once you've cleaned up your system do the following:

Go into the Render Manager in FCP and delete all the render files associated with this current project. Fully re-render the sequence. Export just a 10-second portion of the sequence and then use Compressor again to see what you get.

If you're still getting weirdness then create a new FCP project called "TEST" with a new sequence that matches the sequence settings you're currently editing in. Copy and paste the problem sequence INTO the new TEST sequence in the new project. Re-render another 10-second clip and send to Compressor.

You could also download and try Digital Rebellions Final Cut Maintenance Pack which has several repair routines for both FCP and Compressor. There is a 15-day trial which would give you enough functionality to see if it can get you fixed up.

If you're still getting goofy results after all that then it's time for a trip to the Genius Bar as you might either have software corruption or, a hardware problem.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network