FCP to AE on PC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 1st, 2010, 03:41 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 93
FCP to AE on PC

I have a bunch of video files from my Canon 7D that I need to convert and then edit in After Effects on a PC.

Does anyone know the best settings to convert the H.264 files to? The ProRess 422 is my codec of choice for use within FCP, but this file type won't import into AE (the files have some error when they are trying to import).

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Ryan Postel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 01:59 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
If you have the Prores PC (reading) decoder downloaded then prores quicktimes should work in After Effects. It's available from Apple here:

Apple ProRes QuickTime Decoder 1.0 for Windows

Other than Prores - your choice of codec really depends on the sort of work you need to do.
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network