My BD attempt from MAC to Windows fails again at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2010, 05:37 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,321
My BD attempt from MAC to Windows fails again

In my attempt to create a Blu Ray menu I have failed at this and I give up.

I have a copy of Sony DVD Architect 5.0 and my Mac is set up with VMWare Fusion with Windows XP on it. I thought great I'll render out my HD files to an elementary stream in compressor, change the file names so they are the same and off we go. Architect takes these files.... hey I'm on to Authoring BD........ so long Apple and their non existing BD Authoring program BD Authoring here I come.

Well after countless tries at getting Sony DVD Architect to render out and failing I surrender to the Apple way and give in to Toast as my only alternative. Yeh yeh, I can get Adobe but for 3k just to Author BD forget-it.

Toast and that stupid box in the middle will have to do? what were Roxio thinking.

Thanks for listening.

Cheers
Simon Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 11:25 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
What do you mean by "render out"? Can you get Sony Architect to make a disk image or a VIDEO_TS folder? If you can, you take either one of those and bring it into Toast to burn the final BR disk without the lame Toast menus.

I have a friend with Sony Architect on a PC and he's having problems as well. Wish I knew more about it.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 12:41 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,321
What I mean by render is I let compressor make, build a compatible ac3 and m2v files for DVD Architect or Toast on the Mac.
Simon Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 03:38 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon Ash View Post
What I mean by render is I let compressor make, build a compatible ac3 and m2v files for DVD Architect or Toast on the Mac.
Don't do this.

Let Compressor make a bog standard ProRes file and be DONE WITH IT! Then bring the ProRes file into DVDA, and make your BluRay from there.

If you are doing an AVCHD bluray, then set your maximum bitrate to 15Mbps.

That should get it done. I do this WAY too much, and what seems like it should work.. just doesn't.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network