7d Cineform Footage Wants Rendering at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2010, 04:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 73
7d Cineform Footage Wants Rendering

Hi all,

Nothing was hitting on search, so I figured I would ask.

I've converted my 7d footage to Cineform, and I've been working with it in FCP on a single sequence. I wanted to put one of the sequences on its own timeline so I did a copy and paste of the cuts. In doing this the new timeline turned up completely red, wanting me to render everything. Would this happen because the new sequence doesn't have the same settings as the original?
Scott Lovejoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 07:37 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 352
Yes. Also, I would recommend ProRes over Cineform for use w/FCP. Cineform isn't a 'blessed' codec by Apple so it doesn't get the playback enhancement of FCPs Real Time render engine the way codecs like ProRes, DVCPro HD, HDV, etc., do.


-Andrew
Andrew Kimery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2010, 06:36 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
There are other advantages to using ProRes over Cineform too. It's free as part of FCP for one thing plus you can choose from a variety of bit rates/qualities & there is even a low bit rate proxy if e.g. you are working on a MacBook & your system is not up to handling large proRes files. You cannot use Colour with standard Cineform either but must pay $500 for Neoform HD which includes First Light which is a similar colour grading application.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2010, 11:38 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 73
Thanks.

The whole "blessed" codec thing explains why FCP stuttered on clip playback. Converting everything via Streamclip now.
Scott Lovejoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 08:48 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,268
Yeah, there are many advantages in using Prores, but are there any in using Cineform? Is it really better than Prores? I hear it is better than HDCAM SR.
Michael Maier is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network