Dual-Core 3.33GHz vs. Quad-Core 2.8GHz? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2010, 02:34 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Dual-Core 3.33GHz vs. Quad-Core 2.8GHz?

Hello. I'm looking at a new iMac for video editing with FCP.

I'm curious as to the advantage of a quad-core processor, when its speed is not as fast as a dual-core.

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks.

Last edited by Devin Vaughn; March 19th, 2010 at 02:35 PM. Reason: Bad grammar
Devin Vaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 02:53 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
While it doesn't come out in real performance like this, a dual 3.33 equals 6.66 and a quad 2.8 equals 11.2. No matter what, this quad processor will give you better performance.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 02:57 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Which of course is further complicated by the fact that not all applications can lever the performance advantages of multiple processors but generally speaking, more processors = good.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 09:29 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 202
perhaps not all apps, but specifically FCP?
__________________
Independent Filmmaker in Canada's Capital
Graeme Hay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 09:33 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 773
I believe that FCP 6 is a single-core application, which means that if you are using FCP and have no plans to upgrade, go with the 3.33GHz dual-core. If you're using FCP 7, which I believe is multi-core, go with the quad-core.
__________________
Equip: Panny GH1, Canon HG20, Juicedlink, AT897, Sennh. EW/GW100, Zoom H2, Vegas 8.1
Brian Boyko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 10:16 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
FCP will recognize a quad-core chip and utilize all cores during renders. FCP can not recognize two multiple core processors, such as in 8-core MacPros, but Compressor can when the system is set up correctly.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network