can media manager shrink and copy my project data without deleting original media ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2010, 04:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 89
can media manager shrink and copy my project data without deleting original media ?

So, I have a 1.5TB hd and an iMac that is leant to me for editing because for some reason beyond me the hd will not mount no matter what on my computer.

I notice I can go from 800GB to 100GB by deleting unused media from duplicated clip.

Does this delete media from my borrowed 1.5TB drive?

my aim is to render my projects audio/video so only the clips in the timeline get rendered w handles to my destination drive. Leaving the main media drive untouched

read the manual and wasnt sure if I can do this or not. Hesitant on using some media manager features until I fully wrap my head around it.. incase I get boned

cheers
Chris Sweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 06:28 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Hi Chris

Yes, the Media Manager can do this for you ... choose the option to "Copy" and you will be fine, however it is always worthwhile to unmount the original media drive after the copy and validate the copied project and media from the new location. Media Manager has a checkered history and whilst these days it is pretty darned reliable its always a good idea to check its operations after the fact, especially if the source project is complex.

Best
Andy
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 02:33 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 89
Thanks Andy!

So, the 'deleting unused media from duplicated clip' button will not delete my original files then? Researching about this feature led me to believe it was to delete unused data to save storage space..

thanks again
Chris Sweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 10:42 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Indeed, but understand that you'll loose your handles for editing (ie - you'll be locked into the cut).

I almost always never check that box when archiving finished projects for storage.

-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 12:07 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 352
You won't lose handles if you check the 'add handles' box and add a duration.
Andrew Kimery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 07:22 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 89
awesome, will this feature delete media from the original hd though? Or just omit saving/copying this data to my destination drive?

cheers
Chris Sweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 02:45 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 352
If you use Copy it will duplicate the media you want in destination folder you set. The original media will not be touched.
Andrew Kimery is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network