Importing Problems - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 11th, 2010, 12:20 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 28
Problem has been solved

Turns out, there was an update called "Pro Applications Update" that addressed lots of little problems with several of the apps in Final Cut Suite, Final Cut Server, and Logic Studio. My problem was one of the issues it resolved.

Now when I import HDV to ProRes, the media files are Quicktime files, they have a ".mov" extension on them, and the icon is a picture of the clip.

FCP is now able to recognize these new files. I'm able to reconnect media if I move them.

Thank you gentlemen for your responses. I appreciate the effort.

Sincerely,
James McCrory

PS: Since I'm new to all this, I will no doubt have other questions in the future. When I do, I will post them at this forum. The people here are the most knowledgeable and friendly I've encountered.
James McCrory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2010, 12:41 PM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Parkes View Post
Except, from memory, you can't batch capture using the Pro res ingest, correct?
You are correct, sir. I've never found batch recapture in FCP to be THAT reliable in the first place (at least over Firewire - DV or HDV) so I tend to archive on disk as long as I'm likely to need the media and then blow it out.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2010, 08:51 PM   #18
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by James McCrory View Post
Turns out, there was an update called "Pro Applications Update" that addressed lots of little problems with several of the apps in Final Cut Suite, Final Cut Server, and Logic Studio. My problem was one of the issues it resolved.

Now when I import HDV to ProRes, the media files are Quicktime files, they have a ".mov" extension on them, and the icon is a picture of the clip.

FCP is now able to recognize these new files. I'm able to reconnect media if I move them.

Thank you gentlemen for your responses. I appreciate the effort.

Sincerely,
James McCrory

PS: Since I'm new to all this, I will no doubt have other questions in the future. When I do, I will post them at this forum. The people here are the most knowledgeable and friendly I've encountered.
Something was wrong with your installation of FCP and the update fortunately fixed it. Regardless, you should run the utilities mentioned just in case it's a problem with your system hard drive,
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network