gonna buy..macpro..guide please. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 19th, 2010, 11:18 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: India
Posts: 7
gonna buy..macpro..guide please.

hi..all
im going to buy a macpro..the Ist one in the apple website..(which $2499)

is this processor also called as 8 core..?

can i have dual display with the supplied nvidia card..??

those 3 gb ram (which comes with) are a normal kind of ram or fully buffered ram..?and how good it is compared to other..ram?

i do compositing and editing work (with hd footages)..so does this machine helps me for the time being?(until i get money to upgrade)

thanks in advance..it'll be very helpful.
Karthik Veera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2010, 02:16 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada
Posts: 35
The basic Mac Pro is only 4-core. The nVida card should be dual display. RAM is fully buffered ECC RAM (aka server class RAM). I would get the ATI card, as it will take better advantage of CoreImage/Video?Animation which Motion etc heavily use. Also as for RAM Performance Upgrades; FireWire USB SATA Storage; Memory, more at OWC has good RAM to upgrade your Mac, or just pay the $150 to get the Mac Pro with 6GB RAM.
Trevor Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2010, 04:08 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
And if you don't REALLY need one now... wait a little bit.
Mac Pro updates should be around the corner.
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2010, 09:28 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Whidbey Is, WA
Posts: 326
Just got the 2.93 quad core & it works great with motion. Don't know if you can get refurbished macs in India, but they are quite a bit cheaper. I got the 2.93 refurbished for the same $ as the 2.66 new.

The standard card works fine for motion, but you will need an adapter for your second display, as it has 1 dual link DVI & a mini display port. My second display is an older 19" VGA display, so I got a mini display>VGA which is a $29 adapter from Apple. They also sell a MDP>DVI for the same $ but if you need another dual link DVI, that adapter is $100.

My Comp came with 2x2Gbs ram and the machine was pretty much maxed out with just the 4Gbs. You can just add 2 ram modules, so I got 2x4Gbs modules (Didn't quite have the cash for 3) so I can upgrade to 12 or 16 in the future. **You can't mix the 4Gbs ram with the 1 & 2 Gbs modules.**

The 3Gbs will work but I think you'd be running it to the maximum most of the time. You can mix the 1 & 2 Gbs ram modules, but not with the 4gbs ram. So you could just get 2Gb to add to the 3 in the machine for 5Gbs total ram & that should hold you for a while.

But as Mathieu said, The new MP are suppose to be out by June if you can wait.
__________________
www.breathedeepproductions.com
Chris Korrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 08:39 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: India
Posts: 7
got it..

thanks for the reply friends..
i bought the basic macpro..
it comes with 3 gb of ram..machine is pretty good..my doubt can i add a 2gb ram of the same kind..but from another brand..?
and so it'll become..5gb..is it possible to have a 5gb ram..?
Karthik Veera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 09:56 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
I think those machines can take up to 16Gb of RAM with current RAM offerings. I'm running 8Gb on my 7 year old PPC G5 PowerMac, and I sometimes wish I had more :)
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 12:26 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Whidbey Is, WA
Posts: 326
Yes you can add a 2 Gb ram for 5 Gbs. You just can't mix with the 4Gb or 8Gb.

Too bad your in India, as I've got 2x2Gb ram modules out of my 2009 that I'm trying to sell cheap.
__________________
www.breathedeepproductions.com
Chris Korrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 10:08 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
I've been waiting for the next Mac Pro update. I read that the chips that will likely be used will not be available in volume from Intel for about a month. I don't really neeeed the upgrade, but I do dislike buying at the end of a cycle.
Don Miller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network