Do I need Final Cut Express 4 if I am getting FCS3? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2010, 06:34 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada
Posts: 35
Do I need Final Cut Express 4 if I am getting FCS3?

I got FCE4 for Christmas 2008, and this past week got Final Cut Pro 4 (instead of FCE5 upgrade which hasn't come out) late Christmas present. Should I/what advantages would I have to keeping FCE4 vs just having FCS. Is there an advantage to having both Final Cuts?

Thanks all for your wonderful advice and help. Oh I am using a Canon HF s10 for family stuff, YouTube videos etc.
Trevor Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2010, 08:15 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,629
Simply, no, you do not need FCE if you are getting the new FCS.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Producer/Edit/Camera/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2010, 04:45 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 400
No, absolutely not. FCS3 can do everything FCE4 can and plenty more. Though FCS3 may have so many features you don't need or don't have enough time to learn to use them effectively, the interface is very similar and you will be familiar with most of the functions you use in FCE4 in no time.
Wacharapong Chiowanich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2010, 01:46 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor Harrison View Post
I... this past week got Final Cut Pro 4 ...
Is this a typo? FCP4 is a really old version & the one that you get with Final Cut Studio 3 is FCP7.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2010, 02:31 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada
Posts: 35
Yes I got FCP4 Retail so I can buy the Final Cut Studio 3 Upgrade vs the full version, savings $700CDN ($600US).
Trevor Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2010, 02:45 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Buy the upgrade and don't look back.

FCE is probably good for what it is (I haven't worked with it, but read about it) but it's still in various ways very limited to file formats it works with and outputs. That's already one very basic limitation, without even speaking about features and all the other programs you would miss that are in the studio-package.
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network