What's causing this upon compression? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 7th, 2010, 03:12 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
What's causing this upon compression?

I'm exporting from the FCP timeline using Vimeo's HD output options:

5000 kbits/sec

I've attached two files, one is from the FCP timeline and the other is from Quicktime after I exported it.

Look at the blue background and see what's happening. Any ideas why or how I can better export this?

Attached Thumbnails
What's causing this upon compression?-fcp.jpg   What's causing this upon compression?-qt.jpg  

Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2010, 08:01 AM   #2
Go Go Godzilla
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,730
Images: 15
The banding of the blue colors? There's really not much you can do unfortunately. It's the bane of the downconversion process; when you're throwing away information to squeeze the file down something has to give and color depth is one of the things that goes away.

You could double the bandwidth on your compression settings but Vimeo/YT/whatever is going to re-encode it anyway when up upload it so the banding will return no matter what.

In fact, you can see this very type of banding even in cable/satellite programs; they've got to compress their programs also to fit all those channels into that single transport stream and the same result happens: You'll see banding in what would otherwise be smooth gradients. It's most apparent in sky or smooth backgrounds.

I always feel bad for the guys who shot Sunrise Earth; they went to such extremes to find these gorgeous locations for their sunrise shoot only to have all that majestic color destroyed in the compression process for broadcast out.
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2010, 01:11 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 276
Images: 2
You probably wont be able to get rid of it like Robert said. One question is, are you seeing it in the master you export from FCP? If so, try turning on the highest render settings in the timeline - I forget the exact wording at the moment - I think its Render All Timeline as High-Precision YUV and see if that helps a little.
Jeremy Hughes is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network