Multiple Cameras in 4.5? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 17th, 2005, 02:53 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 28
Multiple Cameras in 4.5?

Hey guys-

I'm having a bit of trouble tracking down workflow tips for editing multiple cameras in Final Cut Pro 4.5. It seems everything regarding 4.5 is now buried under all kinds of talk about the new Multicam feature in FCP 5.

Anyone have a clear-cut, proven method for putting together a multi-cam shoot? Half the time I'm dealing with real-time multiple cameras, which'll be easier I imagine, and the other half is master shots to close-ups done in different takes. I'm not so concerned with that as I am with being able to A/B between video tracks and decide on the best places to cut between.

Any help would be appreciated, as my time is running a bit short.

Thanks in advance,

Chris Marty
Chris Marty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2005, 05:44 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Waynesboro, PA
Posts: 648
one way i have done this with a 2 cam shoot dance recital is i stack the video tracks on the timeline and drop the opacity on the top track to 50% or so this way it will give me a general idea of whats going on on the close up cam as the other cam is locked down. I can do a quick edit of all the close ups i want this way then bring the opacity back up to do final tightining of the cuts. So far has worked well for me on an old school system 867 G4 w/ FCP3 without rendering.You could also scale all the tracks down in the motion tab so they fit in the viewer but this would require rendering to view in real time.
Matt Stahley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2005, 01:37 PM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 121
i've done the scale down to fit both in the window. on my dual 1.8 gangsta-5 this didn't require a render for 2 cameras. probably would for more. i discuss it in length in an old post, but i don't really have time now. basically, you scale to 50% and change the horizontal position. i'm sure you can figure it out. as for sync points, clip markers will be your friend for that.
Nate Ford is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network