Compressor Creating A Movie File Bigger Than DVD-R Capacity? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 21st, 2010, 12:40 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northfield, MN
Posts: 3
Compressor Creating A Movie File Bigger Than DVD-R Capacity?

I recently exported a 2 hr and 9 minute movie through Final Cut's Compressor, slightly padding the image and selecting the 150 Minute Best Quality option. However, the file appears to be too big and when I drop the file in Toast (along with its accompanying .ac3) a message pops up that reads "There is nothing to record, please add more data."

I have compressed and burned this project before and there has been no problem. Could it be due to the padding?

I have also tested the individual files: the sound plays from beginning to end through VLC and the movie stream plays completely in MPEG Streamclip.

Any ideas or suggestions? I'm really at a loss here...
Hillary White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2010, 09:26 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Whidbey Is, WA
Posts: 326
May sound a little basic, but did you try to restart? I've had comps get a little wonky after long renders.

The size should be more than fine, of course you can just look at the file info to get the file size.

Did you try popping it in iDVD or DVDPro?

I just did a 2 hour video with the 120 min preset in compressor, but bumped up the bit rate a bit, had 7 menus, and a 7 minute special features & it all fit fine. I did have to scrap the DVD transitions to get it to fit though.
__________________
www.breathedeepproductions.com
Chris Korrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2010, 01:19 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northfield, MN
Posts: 3
Bitrate After All

I'm pretty sure my problem is the bitrate actually. It seems that it may have been bumped up way too far. I'll be adjusting that and will report back if it makes any difference.
Hillary White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 11:43 AM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
If the file was too large you wouldn't be getting the "nothing to record" error, you'd get an "oversized" error.

These types of apparent import mismatches happen often on systems that don't get routine maintenance done. Download and run all the maintenance/cleaning routines in Onyx (it's free, get the version that matches your OS version), chances are you'll be fine after that. Assuming you didn't create a file larger than the DVD-5/9 spec will hold.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 11:58 AM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northfield, MN
Posts: 3
Bitrate After All

It was the bitrate. It got bumped up while going through Compressor, making the file HUGE. I suppose that Toast just doesn't acknowledge files too large for its program. Now everything is burning just fine.
Hillary White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 03:47 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 660
Images: 10
You've dropped an m2v and ac3 file directly into Toast?
I wouldn't have thought that would work to create a DVD.

I'd use those assets to make a disc image in DVDSP, then burn that to UDF data format in Toast.

Or just drag the original quicktime into Toast and let it encode for you, not the best, but it works.
__________________
FCPX/LS300/EX1/FS100/GoPro/Vinten/HotHead/Jib/Track/Dedos/Lightstorm/Coollights
Duncan Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 12:36 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillary White View Post
I recently exported a 2 hr and 9 minute movie through Final Cut's Compressor, slightly padding the image and selecting the 150 Minute Best Quality option. However, the file appears to be too big and when I drop the file in Toast (along with its accompanying .ac3) a message pops up that reads "There is nothing to record, please add more data."

I have compressed and burned this project before and there has been no problem. Could it be due to the padding?

I have also tested the individual files: the sound plays from beginning to end through VLC and the movie stream plays completely in MPEG Streamclip.

Any ideas or suggestions? I'm really at a loss here...
Here is the problem, most likely you are using a setting that is for a DVD Dual Layer disk 8.5gigs instead of a single layer disk 4.7gigs. Within compressor there are 2 "best quality" options, one is to fit on an 8.5 gig disk and the other is for a 4.7 gig disk.

If you buy at the store the Dual Layer DVDR disk's it will burn and fit fine on it. Problem solved.
Giuseppe Pugliese is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network