This may be a stupid question, but its a question nonetheless at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 20th, 2010, 12:31 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Elmont, New York
Posts: 143
This may be a stupid question, but its a question nonetheless

I have a 40 minute project finished. Now I am going to go back and start to color correct and add some filters such as smoothcam and magic bullet looks.

Is it better to do every step at once (add smoothcam, color correct, use magic bullet)?

or

Is it better to do each at once, render and then do the next?

The real issue here with me is, I dont know if I add an effect to a clip with smoothcam or some of other filter, will it have to all be re-rendered if I add another filter.
Arif Syed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 02:20 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
yes, if you render a clip and add another filter, it will need to be rendered again.

As for workflow, I find concentrating on one effect at a time the best method to maintain consistency. rendering the whole thing really isn't necessary between "passes" but if you have the time and hard drive space, go for it.
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 03:21 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,321
With using smoothcam on a clip make sure you render out a new quicktime of the clip using in and out points, save this clip and then bring back into FCP and replace the original clip then add smoothcam and let this render out. If you don't do this, the original clip you want to add smoothcam to may be from a long clip and smoothcam will render the whole clip out even though you have only a small portion in the time line.

Hope this makes sense.

Cheers
Simon Denny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 01:57 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Adding to what simon said, often you can work around this by creating an new (shorter) master clip from the clip you want, then adding smoothcam to the new master clip only, or better still, learn to use the analyse/stabilize in motion (use 'Send To Motion' from the timeline in FCP), I've found it to be better AND faster at doing the same thing AND you have a little more control over how it stabilizes things.
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network