Noob question about FCP, syncing and time code at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 8th, 2010, 12:20 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 89
Noob question about FCP, syncing and time code

Usually I've done things the hard way and sync audio/video by hand, dummy slate being used on set. But now Im getting into multicam shoots where the recorder, slate and cameras all run at synced timecode.
Im mainly a sound guy wanting to understand more about how this works when brought into post.

When the Audio and Video clips have embedded timecode in them does Final Cut just automatically sync them somehow? How does this work?

And syncing after the picture is locked.. do you have to select each clip one at a time, roll it back to the slate, and then line it up w the audio? ...while being non-destructive to the timeline?

How does this sort of thing generally get done? With or without SMPTE capabilities...
(I know the way I was doing this was a bit of a mess, and probably not the norm)

Any light shed on this would be fantastic

Thanks in advance

Chris
Chris Sweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2010, 11:23 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
One of the options in the multiclip dialogue box is to sync based on timecode. It should be just as simple as that.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2010, 12:34 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
This page looks like a good explanation of all my tricks.

The Essentials of Multicam Editing in Final Cut Pro
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2010, 04:54 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 89
cool, thanks
Chris Sweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2010, 01:28 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 89
that multicam tutorial was very informative. However still trying to wrap my head around replacing camera audio w/ field recorder audio non-destructively in the timeline after a picture lock. The workflow I mean.

Would I create an empty track in my timeline, move or duplicate the clip I want to replace audio to it, pull the in point back to find the slate, then find the corresponding audio file, drop it underneath, sync it by the clap, then pull the in points of the clips back to match the original cut and then move the good audio over the bad one?

This method is all I can think of.. to actually line up to the dummy slate requires me to alter the edits all over the place and then put em back.

Just curious if there's any other methods... Thanks!
Chris Sweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2010, 01:35 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 89
or maybe duplicate the entire timeline, and edit the copied one somehow? Any ideas?
Chris Sweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2010, 02:15 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
What I would do is leave the slate in at the head of the video to start with, edit to picture lock, then sync the audio. When you are sure it is synced, simply mute the camera's audio tracks and move the in point of the video and audio forward together to cut off the slate.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2010, 01:10 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 89
ok.. not sure exactly what u mean.. edit and leave slate in the clips? I get a pic locked fcp project, then I have to sync it, so I am not the one who gets to edit the video...
Chris Sweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2010, 02:05 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
In that case, simply select the entire timeline, move the video forward, then extend the in point of the firstclip to the slate. Sync and reset the in points of the audio and video at the same time, and shift everything back to the beginning of the timeline.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network