I need help printing to tape****urgent**** at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 9th, 2010, 01:12 PM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Redmond, OR
Posts: 14
I need help printing to tape****urgent****

Hey ladies and gents,

I know I am not a regular here, but I am attempting to print my 27 minute short film for a film festival this weekend. I need some serious help, because what should be a slam dunk easy thing to do has caused me to be running on 2 hours sleep in the last 2 days as I try to figure this our. Here is a summary:

FCP 5 (I know, it's old.)
Canon HV20
Connected with fire to an even older iMac that has handled some pretty complex processing in the past.

Long story short, I have everything set up to HDV 1080 60i, HDV Firewire, and in A/V devices tab of the Audio/Video setting, I only get the option to choose about 6 or 7 Apple Firewire 720x480, no HDV option at all. And even when I record using a 720x480 , it only records the audio to tape, no video at all. I really need a favor from someone. I need to get this to another producer TOMORROW who is putting all the films together on one DVD and he is using Adobe Premier, so I am trying to keep it in a raw, compatible format. Do I have other options of getting him the film, or can someone tell me how to get it to tape? I really appreciate any knowledge.
Ryan Bales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2010, 02:02 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
You can't monitor HDV out of your computer with your current set up, and I don't have the experience to explain everything you need to buy in order to do that. That might be why you are having trouble printing to tape, and you may have more luck copying the project into a new standard def project.

Here's what I would do: Export your timeline using "quicktime conversion"
Where it says "export" select "movie to quicktime movie" from the drop down. Click "options". In the window that pops up, just under "video" click "Settings".
In compression type choose "DV/DVC PRO NTSC" Choose BEST for quality and 16:9 for aspect ratio (if it's for DVD you can select interlace from the drop down) and click "okay".
Now go into "size" choose "NTSC 720x480 16:9" from the drop down. DEFINITELY check "de-interlace source video" HDV is interlaced differently than SD so this is important. Click "okay". Make sure sound is checked and you should be good to go.

I would just give the guy that quicktime and remind him it is widescreen anamorphic, but I guess if he has a pc it may not work for him. So you can bring that back into final cut and hopefully you'll have more luck printing to video.

Remember: the video doesn't necessarily look right when viewed in quicktime, but it should work in final cut etc
Quick Time problem
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2010, 02:35 PM   #3
New Boot
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Redmond, OR
Posts: 14
Thank you. I will try soon and report back with results. May be a while.
Ryan Bales is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network