Can't burn BD on LG BE06 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 30th, 2010, 12:33 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montpellier (France)
Posts: 22
Can't burn BD on LG BE06

There has to be a simple solution to this - what am I doing wrong?

Created very short edit in FCP7 and went to share - burn BD. Loaded LG with new Memorex BD-RE 25GB disc. Process went fine until the message 'Error creating your disc. Please see if your boot volume has sufficient space.' Well, then I made a self-contained QT movie from the same seq and it weighed in at 351Mb. So tried loading that into DVD Studio Pro with self-same result. Then tried burning BD in Toast and along came the message ''Couldn't set up the track for writing'.
Now wondering if the problem lies with the disc? All help appreciated.
Hugh Raggett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2010, 08:51 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Uh, Hugh.................

This may sound like a really dumb question, but has that BE06 optical drive ever actually worked on your system?

I only ask as my reading of the manual indicates operation with Windows systems only, NOT with Apple systems, which I infer you are on, as this is a FC question.

Similarly, there are firmware/ driver downloads available for that unit but only for Windows XP and Vista.

Can't quite square this particular circle (or am I just having [another] senior moment?).


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2010, 02:59 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montpellier (France)
Posts: 22
You are right Chris in thinking it's advertised as being windows only - but in fact it works fine with Mac for many people and I've burnt standard DVD's many times - BUT this is the first time i've tried to burn BD (which works for other mac users too, usually for storing archive stuff) - I just wonder if I should try other brands of discs.....or of course change the burner !! ....
Hugh Raggett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2010, 03:25 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Well..............

having slept on it, a thought.

Assuming it is a BE 06LU10 and not a 11 (don't ask me what the difference is, stuffed if I can see one having compared their respective manuals side by side from start to finish!), there is a firmware/ driver update for it that MIGHT sort your problem.

Quite HOW the unit works with Mac OS has me puzzled, I can only assume it's running on Intel architecture and the OS mimics Windows functionality, thus must use drivers in a similar fashion.

Check out the LG web site, see how to perform a firmware/ driver upgrade and check if your unit could use the YE05 download.

Nothing to lose but a bit of time.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2010, 05:44 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montpellier (France)
Posts: 22
Right again Chris!

Yep - could do with that update - downloaded it but get message 'can't open with this application'. What the app. was I have no idea! Maybe because it's a windows update and not Mac? Any ideas? Perhaps I should just go and buy a LaCie that's Mac compatible...
Thanks for your wonderful input and research too - really kind. Did you get any probs. from the 'quake? We have many good friends in NZ. Love the place!
Hugh Raggett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2010, 02:37 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Bugger.................

I was afraid that might happen.

LG have a dedicated firmware/ driver update app which I guess was/ is written for PC/ Windows and simply won't run on a Mac OS.

Looks like it's a LaCie then.

But then again..............do you know anyone with a PC? Simply transfer the drive to a PC, do the download, do the update and transfer the drive back to the Mac.

Bugger all good to you if it's a driver update and not firmware, but it reads on the web site like firmware, gotta be worth a try.

As my knowledge of Mac's could be written on the back of a postage stamp in very large letters I can't begin to say "how to" if it's a driver issue, tho' somehow I don't think it is, as USB is a sort of universal interface.

The quake did wake the missus, tho' I managed to slumber serenely on regardless.

It put a nice hairline crack in a brand new concrete block retaining wall we'd just had built and rendered (at vast expense, I may add), which didn't go down too well.

Not bad considering the epicentre is a 5 hour drive North from here!


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2010, 03:36 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montpellier (France)
Posts: 22
...worth a try

Hey yes, great idea. I have a computer whizz-guy down the road with PC and Mac and a shop! Get back to you after the w/e - aah, you've probably finished that by now!
Hugh Raggett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2010, 03:20 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
I guess.........................

things aren't going exactly to plan at that end?

Do keep us posted.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010, 04:02 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montpellier (France)
Posts: 22
...up and running!

Yes, things have gone just fine over here. Except monday is always a closed shops day in France - so only able to get down there this afternoon (Tuesday). The friendly PC/Mac guy then updated the optical drive to latest version and wow - came back, did a 'Share' to burn a blu-ray disc (albeit very short) and bingo, turned out fine! So thanks a bundle for your input Chris.
Be interesting to know how to burn a 1.5 hr final cut to disc and how long the process might take (all night?) All part of the learning curve I guess!
Hugh Raggett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2010, 04:14 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Great stuff.....................

Good to hear it's sorted.

With any luck it's helped some other Mac users out as well, can't believe this is a totally unusual problem.

Happy BD'ing!


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network