Format hell and workflow advice at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 14th, 2010, 11:07 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Huntsville, Ontario
Posts: 62
Format hell and workflow advice

I just shot a motorcycle film using several different cameras and formats.

The 2 primary cameras were my old Sony FX1, a new Sony NEX-VG10, 2 smaller
Sony HDV cameras, and a Canon T2i.

We also implemented a ton of GoPro and Contour HD cameras for action and helicopter mount shots.

Now back in the edit suite, I'm face to face with the issue of finding a solid workflow.

I've searched a bunch, and have learned a lot along the way, but I'm hoping to avoid a lot of trial and error.

(on a recommendation, I tried transcoding 1 minute of GoPro footage to ProRes LT, the file ended up being 32 gigs!)

If anyone has worked with and successfully mixed these formats, I'd love some feedback.

Thanks!
Andy Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2010, 11:43 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
This might help you w/ importing the GoPro stuff:

GoPro Official Store: Wearable Digital Cameras for Sports
__________________
Avid Media Composer 3.1.3. Boris Red and Continuum Complete. Vegas 8.0c. TMPGEnc Xpress Pro 4.0
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2010, 11:56 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Peterson View Post

(on a recommendation, I tried transcoding 1 minute of GoPro footage to ProRes LT, the file ended up being 32 gigs!)
32GB for a minute in ProResLT means something went wrong. It shouldn't be ANYWHERE NEAR THAT big.

ADDENDUM:
Using the AJA Data Rate calculator on my iPod Touch, 1 minute of 1080P30 in ProResLT should be 877.3MB with 2 channels of audio.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2010, 03:59 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Andy have you solved the problem? I use GoPro with all types of other cameras on the same ProRes timeline? What NLE are you using?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is online now   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network