Lcd Monitor Problem at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 1st, 2005, 07:29 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 233
Lcd Monitor Problem


The color on my monitor changed, I use Panther and a new IMac and I can't seem to get it back to where it was before. The desktop folders now have a sharp white blowout spot on the upper left and this page, for the also looks different, the colors are really longer smooth and subtle, but rather abrupt, sharp and hotter, only way I can describe it. I see no other way to get the old colors back. Also, when I went to Premiere to capture some clips the color was affected in the monitor window as well. It was very dark for some of the clips and almost looked posterized. I then took those clips over to my G4 and watched them on the sony monitor and the tv which is attached to the G4 and the clips looked fine, lighter and normal. So, it's odd. I plan to call Apple tomorrow. Could something in the IMac case, LCD, have blown out or something? If anyone knows what to do, I'd sure appreciate some help here.

Lucinda Luvaas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2005, 07:36 PM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,461
Sure sounds like a hardware problem. You're using Premiere on the Mac? Wow. Are you running MacOS 9 or MacOS X?

If MacOS X, click on System Preferences, then on Displays. Click on the color button, then the Calibrate... button. Check the Expert box, then go through the whole procedure. If things still look wrong then I think you can safely assume it's a hardware problem.

Also, does your iMac have an external monitor port? Not very familiar with the newer models.... if so, plug an external screen into it and see if it looks OK.

Hopefully you're still under warranty, or have AppleCare. Take it to the nearest Apple Store if possible, they can arrange for service.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 12:39 AM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 179
Also go into the Displays preferences (in System Preferences) and make sure you have "Thousands" or "Millions" of colors for your "Colors:" popup. Your problem sounds like you might have "Colors:" set to 256.

VM Productions
Mike Hanlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2005, 06:36 AM   #4
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Muncie Indiana
Posts: 118
Out of left field...but does mac preimere install a color scheme system like photoshop 2 does on a pc?
Email me for projects in Ohio or Indiana.
Lighting > Everything.
Brian Handler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2005, 08:36 PM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 233
Hi All,

Sorry it's taken so long to reply. It turns out that the system preferences, or some of them were corrupted, so I trashed them and got my original desktop colors back in addition to colors, millions for PS, etc.. I should have thought it was preferences, but for some reason, because it was the desktop, I was stumped.

All's well now.

Lucinda Luvaas is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network