General Troubleshooting at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 15th, 2010, 11:10 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 31
General Troubleshooting

Hello,
I'm working on a 2 * 3.2 GHZ Quad-Core INtel Xeon with 12 GB of memory on MAC OSX 10.6.5. This machine is fast! We're working with a Raid, capture cards, black-magic, etc.

However, as of late, my final cut has been pretty buggy.

This machine recently has had problems ingesting footage that normally it doesn't have a problem with (HD CAM SR 1080i60). What happens is that it drops frames and refuses to capture a clip.

I tried safe boot and rebuilding permissions, trashing the preferences, letting UNIX utilities to run in the background, checking disk space (all good), upgrading the operating system, etc.

If FCP still drops frames what do you suppose the problem could be? I'm not sure how to check to see if the capture cards and drivers are updated. How do you do that?
Katie Maguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2010, 01:50 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
What state are your drives in? Are they getting full? Has there been any change to your drive set up (adding an external drive, etc)?
And is Final Cut really dropping frames? It sometimes puts up the warning but if you look at the clip, all is OK.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2010, 11:23 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bryn Mawr, PA
Posts: 31
Continued Problems

Final Cut is doing all sorts of weird things from dropping frames to capturing video and audio out of sync. I'm convinced that this is related to our server being too full. But when I tried capturing to the scratch disk of the computer (in 2 different computers- mind you), the computers freeze and all that comes up on the capture display is a gray box and that spinning rainbow circle of death.
Have any ideas?
Katie Maguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2010, 11:57 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
This is a problem if two different computers are having capture issues when working with them as stand-alone systems. Is there a staff person who set up the systems and server? Go to them first but if there isn't anyone on contract to fix problems like this, my first suggestion is to remove one of the systems from the server network completely and see if you still have capture problems. Also what model of computer are we dealing with here, OS version and FCP version? And what are the drive set-ups within the stand-alone computer?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network