Multicam 9-up view in viewer causes need for timeline render at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 2nd, 2010, 07:30 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney NSW
Posts: 220
Multicam 9-up view in viewer causes need for timeline render

Hi again,

I apologise for bombarding with questions, however I am struggling with Muticam/Multiclip and a deadline is looming on the horizon.

Does anyone know why the timeline suddenly needs rendering when switching from a 4-Up view in the viewer to a 9-up?

I am editing 6 cameras and need the 9-up view to see them all, but the timeline needs a render to play, which means I can't do a real-time switch and, of course, every "switch" means more rendering.

As soon as I switch back to 4-up, no rendering is required.

Cheers,

David
David Cleverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2010, 11:12 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
You are overloading a computer that was never intended for such a data stream. A MacPro with a RAID set up is what you would like to use for heavy multicam editing like this.

My suggestion, switch the four main cameras first and drop in shots from the two cameras you feel have the fewest usable shots..
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2010, 05:11 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney NSW
Posts: 220
Thanks so much William, nothing like a bit of lateral thinking, huh? I will give your suggestion a go. I have a lot to learn.

I even tried moving each camera to a separate FW800 HDD and that did nothing to improve the problems I am experiencing. Nor did converting the XDCAM vision to PRORES 422 HQ.

Appreciate your time,

David
David Cleverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2010, 09:08 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
ProResHQ is overkill for XDCam files. Regular ProRes will do just fine but your problem is with the limitations of an iMac not the codec.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:44 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network