Help! FCP 5.02 Problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 4th, 2005, 08:03 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, FL USA
Posts: 2
Help! FCP 5.02 Problem

I was trying to help out a friend today, and came across a problem that has me stumped.
Can you help?

She is running a G5 2.5, Tiger, 4 Gigs of Ram, 30 Cinema Display, FC Studio v 5.02, Panasonic AG-DVX100A.

I plugged the camera in via firewire through the port on the front of the G5 and double clicked FCP 5.
A pop up screen says, "Unable to locate the following devices. Apple FireWire NTSC (720 x 480)."
She can control the camera from the log and capture window within FCP 5, but cannot see any video.
I thought it might be the port, but the problem persists no matter where I plug the camera in.

As I had my G4 PowerBook 1.67 Ghz, Tiger, 2 Gigs of Ram, FC Studio (FCP v 5.02) with me, I plugged her camera in and it was recognized immediately without any problems.

I thoroughly checked her program against mine and found all the settings were identical, with the exception of one thing. That one thing is recognition of the External A/V device.

Have any of you ever experienced a similar problem?
If so, can you please pass along the solution so that I can help a friend out.

Thank you so much.
__________________
James Wicks
www.wicksfilms.com
West Palm Beach, FL
Jim Wicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2005, 08:41 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Does this link from Apple's FCP support forum help?

http://discussions.info.apple.com/we...1v.0@.68b24d63
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2005, 05:02 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, FL USA
Posts: 2
Thanks Boyd,
That is a very interesting suggestion.
I'll give it a shot and post the results in an update.

It's weird, though. The problem isn't universal. I mean it happens on my friend's computer, but not mine. Both computers are near identical, running exactly the same OS X, FCP v 5.0.2, etc.

If QT is indeed the problem, then I agree with the writer on the thread: "Apple dropped the ball on this one."
__________________
James Wicks
www.wicksfilms.com
West Palm Beach, FL
Jim Wicks is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network