NTSC to PAL Conversion Help Needed!! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 7th, 2010, 06:21 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monreal, Quebec,Canada
Posts: 232
NTSC to PAL Conversion Help Needed!!

Not sure what place to post this but since I am going to ProRes I put it here. If the Mods feel it would have better exposure elsewhere please move it.
I have a project that calls for the conversion of 100+ hallf hour shows to PAL from NTSC. The originals are on Beta and DigiBeta. The client would like the PAL versions as ProRes and I would like to do an NTSC ProRes version at the same time for future use. I have looked at the software conversion plug-in route but it is too time consuming and the cost of sending it out is too expensive and would kill the job.
DOes anyone have any experience with this device:
AV Tool - CDM-830T Standards Converter

My ideal plan would be to install a capture card that would accept 4 audio tracks (this is a must) and feed video from the Tape Deck to the AVToolbox and the audio from the deck to to card. I would use my Horita black burst generator as a sync source for both.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. I can't afford a Snell and Wilcox device .
__________________
Brian Murphy Director-Editor-DoP
Montreal-Ottawa-Toronto
Brian Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2010, 07:41 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 31
I've used Mpeg2 Works 4 (try saying that quickly!) for going from PAL to NTSC, and it was great.
Mary Crowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2010, 09:22 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York NY
Posts: 322
If you want a hardware converter, take a look at the Teranex Mini.
Arnie Schlissel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2010, 10:07 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Rent a DigiBeta deck, an Aja IO capture box and spend a weekend capturing NTSC ProRes files. Then set up Compressor for NTSC to PAL conversions (you can find the best setting with a search in this forum) and let it run for a couple of days. Make sure to have enough drive space.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 06:47 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monreal, Quebec,Canada
Posts: 232
Many Thanks to All!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie Schlissel View Post
If you want a hardware converter, take a look at the Teranex Mini.
Thanks for all the suggestions and advice. Arnie, I went to the Teranex site, found the dealer in my area and will be renting a Teranex 100 from them. If this seems like it will be a regular thing I will pick up a mini as it seems like a very handy tool. So thanks too Arnie for the lead! And Mary, I need to end up with broadcast quality ProRes but Slainté for posting.
Brian
__________________
Brian Murphy Director-Editor-DoP
Montreal-Ottawa-Toronto
Brian Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 07:49 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Teranex Mini looks like an excellent converter but it's input and output is SDI. How are you planning to capture an SDI signal?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 09:10 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monreal, Quebec,Canada
Posts: 232
SDI Capture

Yes I will be capturing SDI with a Blackmagic Design Decklink SDI PC Express Capture Card ordered today from BH NYC. But I won't be using the mini it will be the VC100 from Teranex.
Digi Betacam playback via a J Deck out SDI (embedded audio) to VC100 out to Blackmagic Card into Final Cut at ProRes SD 525 with 4 tracks of audio.
Will post how it works when I am up and running next week.
Brian
__________________
Brian Murphy Director-Editor-DoP
Montreal-Ottawa-Toronto
Brian Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2010, 09:57 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Sounds great. I only need to do this sort of job once a year so a rental makes sense for me.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 10:54 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monreal, Quebec,Canada
Posts: 232
Works!

I am on show #30 and the VC100 with BlackMagic SDI card is an awesome combo. I am bringing it in at Apple ProRes HQ PAL and the quality is superb, had to do some minor horizontal and vertical size tweaks on the VC100 but otherwise it was plug and play.
So thanks again everyone who posted and if you ever need to get the job done in your own suite rather than out sourcing this is the way to do it economicly.
Brian
__________________
Brian Murphy Director-Editor-DoP
Montreal-Ottawa-Toronto
Brian Murphy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network