Audio export problems at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2011, 08:33 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 14
Audio export problems

Hi,

I was working on a picture sideshow for a friends dads memorial service in FCP 6. Everything played and sounded fine when playing in FCP. When I exported to Compressor the audio did not export from FCP.
The audio was 3 songs I had imported.

When I tried to 'Print to Video' the audio was exported to tape.
I have never had this problem before.

My settings are:
DV NTSC 48kHZ
Audio=16 bit 48kHZ Stereo

Under User Preferences the Audio Output is set to 'Stereo Monitoring L+R

I'm hoping someone can help me figure this out

Thanks
Rick Fleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2011, 09:48 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Is the audio in AIFF format? If not, use Compressor (or a free audio program called "Switch") to convert the audio to AIFF and then replace the audio clips on the timeline.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2011, 10:50 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 14
Yes. The initial file was an AIFF. It play from the FCP timeline fine. I tried importing it as a WAV just to try something else and this made no difference.
Rick Fleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2011, 12:36 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Did you make a self-contained QuickTime file first before using Compressor? If not, try that and see if the audio is there by playing the file in QuickTime. If the audio is still missing, create a new sequence, select all from the original sequence and paste it into the new sequence. Perhaps a setting is not working in the original sequence although I have never experienced that.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2011, 12:38 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 14
I have printed to video and then re captured into FCP. Then exporting to Compressor with the same results. No audio. It looks like it makes an audio file but when previewing in DVD Studio Pro there is no sound.

I have also used Quicktime conversion from FCP and when previewing with the Quicktime player there is sound with the video.

I'm starting to think the problem is with Compressor. Any suggestions?
Rick Fleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2011, 10:36 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Maybe you have tried this already:
Try a totally different test project from scratch. If the issue disappears you might have some project settings that are causing the issue.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2011, 01:37 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 444
Just checking the obvious - you are importing both the M2V AND the AC3 file into DVD STUDIO PRO right? And you are putting them both on the timeline?
__________________
www.afterglow.co.nz
Craig Parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2011, 09:42 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 14
I did import both the m2v and the ac3 file into DVDSP. I've done this 100's of times before without any problems.

I tried copying the video and audio into a sequence time line I had successfully exported a project from before. The audio again would not play after encoding in Compressor. It shows the ac3 file with its duration but no audio. I then copied a piece of audio from the existing project video and moved into the section on the time line of the video which was have problems encoding the audio and it worked. It seems something is wrong with the audio file. It is an AIFF file. I compared the working audio file with the problematic audio file properties and they look the same?

Not quite sure what to do next?
Rick Fleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2011, 09:56 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Is this a file from a camera or a separate AIFF file? Try importing it into Soundtrack, change the volume a little bit and exporting.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2011, 10:32 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 14
The 3 audio files are from cd's.
Rick Fleming is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network