color corrector 3-way problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 26th, 2011, 10:13 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tainan, Taiwan & Macau, S.A.R. China
Posts: 132
color corrector 3-way problem

So I'm trying to use the 'color corrector 3-way' filter to crush the blacks in a short film I'm finishing up, and I'm running into the same problem every time I do. I apply the filter to one clip, dropping the black levels and boosting the whites and mids a little bit. I then copy that clip, and 'past attributes' copying the filter to the rest of the clips at the same time. Then I render. What happens next is that the entire film becomes one-tenth the size it was before, and is filled with compression artifacts, both in the sequence *and* as a final, exported .mov file.

I really can't figure out why applying a filter would do that, so obviously I'm missing something. Any ideas?
__________________
descantproductions.com cloudgate.tv
Sony and Zeiss, FS700, FS100, A7s, A7rii, RX100MkII
Jem Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 12:07 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
What video codec are you using? And does this happen if you work in another sequence?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 12:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tainan, Taiwan & Macau, S.A.R. China
Posts: 132
I'm using h.264, 1920X1080 24p imported straight in from 5d MkII files. I haven't tried another sequence because I'd like to know why just using a color-correction filter is causing such trouble. I must be doing something wrong, so hopefully I can fix it. thanks...
__________________
descantproductions.com cloudgate.tv
Sony and Zeiss, FS700, FS100, A7s, A7rii, RX100MkII
Jem Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 01:56 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
You need to transcode your video files into ProRes before editing.
__________________
David W. Jones
www.joneshdfilms.com
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 02:26 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tainan, Taiwan & Macau, S.A.R. China
Posts: 132
Interesting, I didn't know ProRes was the only codec that you could use filters on in FCP. I'll transcode them and give it another shot. Thanks...
__________________
descantproductions.com cloudgate.tv
Sony and Zeiss, FS700, FS100, A7s, A7rii, RX100MkII
Jem Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 03:20 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
It's not the only codec you can use filters on.
__________________
David W. Jones
www.joneshdfilms.com
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 09:50 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
H264 is a very efficient codec in terms of file size to picture quality but it's a terrible codec to edit with. It is very processor intensive and there are many variants of h264. Final Cut likes QuickTime codecs that have every frame sitting in it's own package not referring to a frame a few frames back. The reaction you saw is a direct result of using a codec that Final Cut doesn't interact well with. Transcoding to ProRes might seem to be a nuisance but the savings in rendering time and computer performance is well worth it.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2011, 10:18 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tainan, Taiwan & Macau, S.A.R. China
Posts: 132
That makes sense, thanks for the great info. I've transcoded the clips and everything is going great. I am using clips from someone else's camera, I've not used h.254 before since all my clips are Excam or Prores. Always an adventure. Thanks for the help.
__________________
descantproductions.com cloudgate.tv
Sony and Zeiss, FS700, FS100, A7s, A7rii, RX100MkII
Jem Moore is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network