Pan jitters in my timeline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2011, 11:03 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
Pan jitters in my timeline

I have done some searching but haven't really found anything.

I am putting together a project on fcp 7 with a bunch of 5d footage and everything looks amazing except for two or three shots. Whenever there is a pan, the footage gets jumpy and jittery. I know it is not the source files because they run flawlessly in my viewer. Only in the timeline is where they start screwing up. Any ideas?

sequence setting:
prores 422 LT
hdtv1080
24fps

I7 imac w/ 8 gigs of ram.
Brandon Barnard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2011, 02:50 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 120
nope...nothing...not even a titter?
Brandon Barnard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2011, 11:32 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 81
I'm by no means a FCP expert, and I'm not familar with the 5d... but I do use FCP at work.

Sometimes I've found that jittery footage on the TL, looks ok when it's output.

Sometimes the shift fields option of -1 does the trick.

Sometimes I just bring the footage home and edit it on a PC with Edius :-)
Jason Sovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2011, 10:21 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon Barnard View Post
I have done some searching but haven't really found anything.

I am putting together a project on fcp 7 with a bunch of 5d footage and everything looks amazing except for two or three shots. Whenever there is a pan, the footage gets jumpy and jittery. I know it is not the source files because they run flawlessly in my viewer. Only in the timeline is where they start screwing up. Any ideas?

sequence setting:
prores 422 LT
hdtv1080
24fps

I7 imac w/ 8 gigs of ram.
Sounds like a mismatch between the footage and the sequence settings. From your description it seems like an interlaced field switch which frequently is invisible in slow moving shots but shows itself in action or pans. How is the 5d footage imported? Is it ProRes as well? Take the footage in question and drag it into a new sequence. If FCP asks to change the sequence settings to the footage's format, let it and then run the footage to see if the problem is still there.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network