Topping & tailing raw clips for stock at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2011, 05:50 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 209
Topping & tailing raw clips for stock

To edit a clip in iMovie or FCP is simple enough, but when the clip is dragged onto the desktop it's in it's original unedited form.

How do I create an MP4 clip which is trimmed to perfection and have it simply as an MP4 clip which I can email without the camera set up wobble at the beginning and the end, and without losing any quality?
Cameron Poole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2011, 06:19 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 471
Re: Topping & tailing raw clips for stock

When you are finished editing you must export the clip -- you can't just drag it back off the timeline.

Cheers,
GB
R Geoff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2011, 07:17 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 209
Re: Topping & tailing raw clips for stock

Thanks Geoff, but in FCP what do I export it as in order to maintain the best quality?
Cameron Poole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2011, 07:58 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 471
Re: Topping & tailing raw clips for stock

The best quality is one of the ProRes options -- but they significantly increase the size of the file, and don't add quality to your original ... A more sensible option is probably to export as the same codec as they are originally.

A lot depends on why you are going through this exercise -- what is your goal?

Cheers,
GB
R Geoff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2011, 08:10 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 209
Re: Topping & tailing raw clips for stock

My goal is to upload the clip to a stock footage site, it's a ground level shot of Bangkok traffic in torrential rain shot on a GoPro camera.

I'm new to this and I'm new to Final Cut so I've a lot to learn, including how to find out what the original codec was and how to export it as that.
Cameron Poole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2011, 08:38 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 471
Re: Topping & tailing raw clips for stock

It would seem sensible to find out what the stock footage site wants -- if you give them 'the wrong thing' they are just going to recompress it; perhaps they want a large uncompressed source file so they can do the compression. Either way, it is unlikely that there are no guidelines.

Final Cut will always let you do the following; drag your source clip to the timeline. If your sequence settings aren't the same as the source, FCP asks you if it should change the sequence settings to match the source -- say yes. When you are finished trimming your clip export it -- again, FCP offers up the option of exporting in the current settings (sorry, don't recall the precise language) -- again, say yes and now your export matches your source.

Now you have a trimmed clip, otherwise unedited and unchanged. Use Compressor to generate a file or files that match the requirements of the site.

I don't know what a GoPro camera is, and maybe you are starting out with a file format that is problematic, or falls short of the quality demanded by a stock site, or will demand special handling for editing in FCP (i.e. conversion to an editable format, like ProRes, from a delivery codec, like h.264)

HTH

Cheers,
GB
R Geoff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2011, 09:08 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: Topping & tailing raw clips for stock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameron Poole View Post
My goal is to upload the clip to a stock footage site, it's a ground level shot of Bangkok traffic in torrential rain shot on a GoPro camera.

I'm new to this and I'm new to Final Cut so I've a lot to learn, including how to find out what the original codec was and how to export it as that.
It doesn't matter what the original codec was, the only thing that matters is what the stock library wants. for instance, if you are submitting to a library such as iStock then you need to export to MotionJPEG. They don't accept ProRes or H.264 etc.

So, before you go any further, read the notes at the stock site and find out what they want. Almost all the stock libraries also have contributor forums. Have you asked there how to get your footage in a suitable format? I guarantee some one there will have already done exactly what you are trying to do and will likely be very happy to help you.
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 09:37 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 209
Re: Topping & tailing raw clips for stock

Did a copy and paste of the requirements and what a mess it was, here's the link:

Stock Photography: Search Royalty Free Images & Photos | iStockphoto.com

Straightforward enough that even I can understand it, though I'm not sure if I am NTSC or PAL.

So once I have my settings set to the iStock requirements, how do I trim my clip?
Cameron Poole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2011, 05:05 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 60
Re: Topping & tailing raw clips for stock

It sounds to me like you're changing the timeline settings to the iStock requirements -- this isn't what you want to do. You want to edit the footage in its native format, or as close to it as possible. So if you have FCP 6 or higher, let it automatically change the timeline settings on footage import to match your native video format (if you have an older version, you will have to manually change the settings). Then when your edit is ready, you'll export it to your desired format.

To trim the clip in FCP: You can drag the clip ends to where you want them (make sure the default pointer is your selected tool). Or you can use the blade tool to cut the video, then delete the parts you don't want. In both cases either drag the video to the timeline's start or close the gap so you don't have space at the beginning of the timeline (right click on empty area of timeline, select Close Gap).

To get mp4 h.264 as the site requests, your best bet is to export through Compressor. Compressor has some very nice h.264 presets that will work perfectly -- you just drag the presets onto the clip in the Compressor job window.

So select:

File > Export > Using Compressor

In short, Compressor wants you to select an export setting from it's lower left list of folders, and also select a destination for the export. Both of these settings can be modified.

My suggestion for the quick and dirty way to learn how to use both FCP and Compressor is to watch tutorials on YouTube. They walk you through every step visually, so there's no confusion.

Have fun and good luck.
Allen White is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network