Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 27th, 2011, 12:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 234
Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated?

Running some tests with a Panasonic GH2 and FCP 6 and getting nasty pixelated results. Video was shot in Manual Movie Mode, AVCHD(1080i), and FSH. SD card plugged into computer, looks fine when played in the Log and Transfer preview window. Selected Log and Transfer AVCHD Plugin and I tried both Apple Intermediate Codec and Apple ProRes 422. Results were identical.

Same tests at 720p and 24p Cinema come out just fine. Loaded the 1080i clip into iMovie and it looks fine except it stair-steps when I panned.

I am definitely missing something. Suggestions?

Thanks.
Dave Eaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2011, 04:15 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated?

That's interlaced video on a progressive computer monitor.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2011, 07:39 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 234
Re: Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated?

Hmm. Not any interlacing I've ever seen. You can see it starting in the first frame (top) and the worse of it in the last (bottom):

http://members.cox.net/monika_a2/gh2fcp6.jpg
Dave Eaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2011, 01:55 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated?

That's strange. Have no idea except that your computer can't handle the data flow, which model do you have?
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2011, 02:39 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 234
Re: Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated?

It's quite odd and why I'm wondering what I have set wrong in FCP 6.0.6. It's only a 44MB file but I had the same weird results in another test I did prior to it. The same files open just fine in iMovie and Premiere Pro. Machine is a Dual core 2.8GHz iMac with 4GB RAM and OS 10.6.6.
Dave Eaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2011, 04:38 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 234
Re: Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated?

Just did a quick test at 1920x1080 at 24H which has a higher bitrate than the 60i test. Worked just fine. This is strange.
Dave Eaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 02:45 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: U.K
Posts: 154
Re: Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated?

So is this happening when playing back on the timeline or the from the bin? Are the quicktime files that you've captured playing back like this in finder/quicktime? VLC does this to MTS files from the GH1, when the files themselves are perfectly fine.
If the problem is just in FCP, then perhaps you could try trashing preference files creating a new project with fresh sequence settings and starting again?
__________________
Adrian
http://chillfactorfilms.com
Adrian Frearson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 09:56 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 234
Re: Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated?

Happens in the bin and the timeline. Trashed Prefs and started fresh as soon as I saw it -- associate suggested that I find a way to capitalized on the new found art form. :-)

Only happens with the 1080 60i files, 1080 24P, 720 60P, etc. play fine. I've come to the conclusion it's FCP 6.0.6. as the files play fine in the camera and in iMovie '11 and Premiere Pro CS5 -- iMovie stair steps on one with a pan though. I can use Toast to convert them to ProRes and they're fine. I was hoping it was just a setting I wasn't using correctly. Oh well.
Dave Eaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2011, 08:03 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 234
Re: Panasonic GH2 Log and Transfer Pixelated?

Stopped off at an Apple store (wanted to pre-order a iPad2) and took a SD card and reader. Log and Transferred the clips into FCP 7, no problems. So, it's a CP6.0.6 issue. Darn it. At least I know now.
Dave Eaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network